Dell Inspiron 1300/Half Screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2008, 06:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Dell Inspiron 1300/Half Screen

Hey guys,

I am working on a Dell Inspirion 1300 now, and just about had it where it needed to be, but, my cats knocked over a jar of water on top of it. Initially, it seemed to be fine, but, the color on the laptop was a bit off, with a bit more blue tinted.

Anyway, the screen quit working completely, but, after some prayer and time, it dried out, and worked fine this morning. It worked completely wel, and while I had it up, I downloaded MalWare bytes anti malware, and also, I guess, downloaded a Windows update, since I was able to connect here at work.

Anyway, when I was shutting it down to move it, it said that not to turn itoff, it would shut down by itself, because it was installing updates. After those updates installed, it then came up with all of the screen compressed in the left half of the screen, with the very top of the screen rolled onto the bottom of it. I messed around with the settings a small bit, and it became a bit more readable, but, it is still compressed into half a screen.

The color is perfect, and everything else is too.

The only thing is that the big Windows XP emblem/symbol doesn't come up with the computer is loading, so, I don't know if booting into "Safe Mode" is an option.

While it could be liquid damage, I am hoping for a software issue resulting from one of the downloads. While running the MalWare bytes program, the AVG program detected 2 trojan viruses.

So, I want to exhaust every possible hardware damage issue initially.

Please advise.

Thanks.

Jeremy
__________________

kf4qhk is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 10:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 1300/Half Screen

sounds like a virus. does the post screen look like this too? can you get in to the bios? you could always reinstall windows.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 1300/Half Screen

What is the post screen?

Well, I wouldn't know how to get to the BIOS, because, ther is nothing on the screen at all as far as the initial loading. So, I would not know how to get the BIOS up.

also, it has an external VGA jack, and I hooked up my monitor to it, and the whole screen worked on my Monitor.

Jeremy
kf4qhk is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 1300/Half Screen

ok when it's booting up try pressing delete as soon as you cut it on. P.O.S.T stands for power on self test.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 11:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 1300/Half Screen

Press and Hold? I Just get beeping for when I do that.
Still, bank screen until computer comes up.

Jeremy
kf4qhk is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 11:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 1300/Half Screen

nope just press once, but every mobo has a different way to get in to bios. sounds like that a virus could be causing this instead of water damage. is formatting the hdd and reinstalling windows a option?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 11:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default

I dn't have the original, or any, XP disk.

Is there something I can do to back it up to before teh update was installed today?

Now, I just restarted it, and it's fine.
Hmm..
kf4qhk is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 11:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 1300/Half Screen

full screen and every thing? well run a virus scan, see if it picks any thing up.

also use the edit button, we dont like double posting around here
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 11:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default

Now that it's up, how can I check the settings?

I would restart it, but, am scared we may get the same results again.
I have AVG, Malware Bytes, and SuperAntiSpyWare on it.

Jeremy

What did I double post?
kf4qhk is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 11:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 1300/Half Screen

remove malware bytes and superantispyware, they sound like viruses. run a avg virus scan

yes, yes you did
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Inspiron E1505 freezes when power is plugged/unplugged nathaliev Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-07-2008 05:51 PM
Dell Inspiron wont boot OS, no bios...HELP! dan_cochrane Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-27-2008 03:10 AM
Dell Inspiron E1705 Gaming laptop Really Cheap Norcent Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 11-30-2007 05:49 PM
Upgrade Dell Inspiron 600m Memory/HDD Laptop jto18 Laptops and Notebooks 1 09-11-2007 11:16 PM
Dell Inspiron Motherboard/Memory Problem Jaco42 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-10-2007 02:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.