Dell Inspiron 1000 Memory Bad??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2010, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default Dell Inspiron 1000 Memory Bad???

I am working on a Dell Inspiron 1000 for a friend of mine and it hangs up so I thought it had a virus. Went through a lot of crap only to run MemTest86 and got the message "Unexpected Interrupt - Halting CPU 0". Now I have researched this and apparently this means that there is bad ram. I took out the additional stick of 256 and redone memtest and got the same error message. This machine has 256 of ram built in to it and I suspect that that is what is bad. Is there a way to disable the built in ram? I looked in the BIOS and did not see the option to do that.

Any other suggestions on getting this thing up and running?

Thanks in advance.

Kyle
__________________

wkmincey is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 1000 Memory Bad???

That 256 isn't "built into it". Its under the keyboard, you have to know how to dissemble it. Each model is different be sure to get a guide for the correct one.

That error is due to the CPU. Either your board or the CPU is bad.

But yes, do test the RAM with the other out.

Edit: Welcome to TF!
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 03:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 1000 Memory Bad???

Thanks for the quick reply master, do you think it could be a heat sink issue? I don't have a service manual to know how to take that ram out. I did take some air and blow through the vents to cool it off a bit then run memtest again and it went longer than it did the first times. That is why I think it may be a heat problem. I don't know, I am only a novice at best.

Kyle
wkmincey is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 1000 Memory Bad???

Laptop CPU's are known to be hot. They don't have the proper cooling that desktops do. Some new thermal grease may help, but it won't help much, I'm thinking.

Read this: Dell Inspiron 1000 Disassembly Instruction

It looks familiar to what I did with my Dell Vostro 1500. It seems legit.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS/T Dell Inspiron Mini 9 SHaTTaFaKKaP Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 24 11-18-2008 07:56 PM
Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530 Digital Felon System Upgrades 22 10-16-2008 03:12 AM
Quick question about dell inspiron 531 PSU Dearen System Upgrades 2 08-15-2008 02:04 AM
Motherboard/ Memory Read Error Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-02-2008 09:40 PM
Dell Inspiron E1505 freezes when power is plugged/unplugged nathaliev Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-07-2008 05:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.