Dell amd or Dell intel? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2007, 04:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Default Dell amd or Dell intel?

I have a question. I am getting a laptop, most likely dell. i was also thinking of an HP. I need it for office work, spreadsheets, statistics, etc. No games or video edditing whatsoever. I just need speed and reliability. Shall I get an AMD or Intel processor for the purpose? Thanks
__________________

techyabhi is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 05:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Dell amd or Dell intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by techyabhi View Post
I have a question. I am getting a laptop, most likely dell. i was also thinking of an HP. I need it for office work, spreadsheets, statistics, etc. No games or video edditing whatsoever. I just need speed and reliability. Shall I get an AMD or Intel processor for the purpose? Thanks
vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv
__________________

__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Dell amd or Dell intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by techyabhi View Post
I have a question. I am getting a laptop, most likely dell. i was also thinking of an HP. I need it for office work, spreadsheets, statistics, etc. No games or video edditing whatsoever. I just need speed and reliability. Shall I get an AMD or Intel processor for the purpose? Thanks
Do you have a budget?
I bought my daughter a dell w/amd dualcore cpu and 1g ram for $499. It works really good. But here's is the main reason...it came with xp. I know that with vista it would have required more ram.
Anyway, if money is no issue, go w/core2duo cpu. If not, amd will take care of you.
good luck
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Dell amd or Dell intel?

Go with AMD , runs cooler, and more smoother
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 12:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Dell amd or Dell intel?

If you have the money, then the Core 2 duo cpu's for lap-tops are a better performer. If you will be using windows Vista I would recommend a 2gig. Ram upgrade aswell.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 04:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: Dell amd or Dell intel?

Vista needs 2GB to run efficiently. You probably will end up paying twice as much through the manufacturer than you would through a retail store (like newegg). So avoid loading up on RAM when configuring it. Get the bare minimum unless there's a deal, then upgrade later.

Whether you choose a Turion X2 or a Core 2 Duo, consider price-to-performance first. A Viper might be faster, but it's also very expensive. A Mustang would give you better performance for your buck. So don't count out AMD. But since laptop processors throttle down when you are mobile, raw processor power is probably the least of your concerns. Generally, you will find much better performance in a Core 2 Duo notebook, but this comes at a higher price.

Build quality is very important. Dell is known for having poor build quality, at least in their consumer line. HP was your second choice you said. It has much better build quality (and much better design IMO). Even better are HP business notebooks (Compaqs). I've also heard Asus makes solid, durable notebooks.

Since you may be using this in an office, you will have to consider screen types. There are two: Glossy and matte. Matte is good for high-light conditions, since it doesn't reflect light into your eyes. The colors are arguably less crisp- but it's probably the choice for office or outdoor environments. Glossy is good for indoor, low light use. Since there is no matte finish, the colors look more alive and crisp- but they reflect light and could be a distraction.
__________________

__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Demonstrates First 32nm Chip and Next-Generation Nehalem Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 09-20-2007 01:07 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 90 09-17-2007 07:56 PM
Intel future processors will be lead-free and environmentally friendly maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-23-2007 11:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.