dell 1545 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2009, 02:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hollyoaks777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 286
Question dell 1545

could someone tell me where i could get drivers for xp for this laptop,i have been to dell website,and it only gives me the option for vista drivers,i hate vista,its so annoying and want to install xp on partition,thank you in advance
__________________

hollyoaks777 is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 02:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: dell 1545

Many newer laptops are built for "vista only"

With that said it may be possible to find drivers for particular hardware devices from the parts manufacturer. It is generally a pain.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 11:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: dell 1545

Why is it annoying? Just disable the UAC prompt and you won't get prompted for security anymore.

As Hef said most new laptops have only Vista hardware now. Hardware manf. are not going to develope old drivers for their products when the OS is going to be phased out by Vista and Windows7.

If you can't find anything on the manf. website you're probably stuck with Vista.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 11:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hollyoaks777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 286
Default Re: dell 1545

i disabled the uac and the computer kept crashing mate,so had to put it back on does vista ultimate prmpt you each time you goto do something,as i was going to install that,but if it does the same theres no point,thanks guys
hollyoaks777 is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 02:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: dell 1545

All vista flavors do. Follow these steps to dissable the prompts:
-click control pannel
-administrative tools
-local security policy
-local policies
-security options
-scroll all the way down

Now you have a lot of UAC options here, but the ones you really want to disable so it doesn't prompt you are:
-User account control: run all admin in admin approval mode, disable this
-User account control: behavior of elevation prompt for admin, change that to elevate without prompting
-User account control: dectect application installation and prompt for elevation, disable this

That should stop all the prompts.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 04:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: dell 1545

If you just reinstalled Vista Ultimate you can also activate the Administrator account and not have to worry about the UAC at all.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: dell 1545

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
If you just reinstalled Vista Ultimate you can also activate the Administrator account and not have to worry about the UAC at all.
Still will get those UAC prompts for the Admin until you follow the above steps. Default is admin approval mode for admins with elevated prompt.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 10:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: dell 1545

If you enable the hidden Admin account UAC is off be default. I know. I have done it on every install of Vista and Win7 now. UAC is disabled for prompts.



Start>in the search box type secpol.msc for Ultimate users. Then go to that section. You will see that UAC Prompts for the Hidden Admin account are off by default as shown.

So you can enable the Hidden Admin account and never see a UAC Prompt.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 01:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hollyoaks777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 286
Question Re: dell 1545

i have disabled uac no problems so fae,except the warning notification that its turned off,i take it i will have to turn it back on again,to follow your steps guy's,as i dont see these options you's are talking about,i disabled it through msconfig then tools,to disable it,could you tell me how i stop the warnings,and if i have to turn it back on again,to follow your options as i dont see them.
thank you very much in advance
hollyoaks777 is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 02:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: dell 1545

What are you trying to do? Enable the hidden Admin account or just disable UAC?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Releases Bios Updates For Several Nvidia Video Cards Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 07-30-2008 12:41 PM
Upgrading Power Supply on DELL - Curse them. Snoobies New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-12-2008 12:18 AM
A newbie need help: upgrading from ancient dell PuluPulu New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-11-2007 10:45 AM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.