CPU Speed - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2008, 07:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: CPU Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
You DO NOT add up the clock speeds!!!
ok ok ok... again ok. I was wrong but it does not take three different people to correct me.
__________________

__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 11:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to bryanp0286
Default Re: CPU Speed

I just ran Can You RUN It (Can You RUN It?) and it said I had 1.80GHz performance rated @ 4.59GHz
__________________

__________________
Dell Inspiron 1501 Laptop
AMD Athlon Mobile TK-55 Dual Core 1.8 GHz
2GB DDR2 Memory
120GB HDD
Windows XP Home Edition
bryanp0286 is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 01:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: CPU Speed

Where do you see the "rated at" part...? I've run it before,and just ran it (for Crysis) and it just showed my stock speed... Screenshot of where you say it showed 4.59GHz?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 02:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to bryanp0286
Default Re: CPU Speed

Here's a screenshot of it, I outlined the part I was talking about, and used Crysis as the game.

__________________
Dell Inspiron 1501 Laptop
AMD Athlon Mobile TK-55 Dual Core 1.8 GHz
2GB DDR2 Memory
120GB HDD
Windows XP Home Edition
bryanp0286 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 05:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: CPU Speed

That's odd... Must be a glitch or something? lol Not sure I guess...

Not showing my stock speed anymore, but my current speed (OC'd speed).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 08:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: CPU Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by TAH1020 View Post
Do the processor speeds in laptops work the same a the ones in desktops? .
i think yes
my laptop runs much faster than my desktop

__________________
My personal tech is laser pointer
jennyyu is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 04:48 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: CPU Speed

Desktop and laptop CPUs are pretty much the same, except laptops are designed to use less power and produce less heat.

As far as doubling speed with dual cores- think of it like having two horses pulling a carriage instead of one. Is the power pretty much doubled? Yes. Will two horses run at a faster speed than one horse? No.
__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 11:28 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: CPU Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by jennyyu View Post
i think yes
my laptop runs much faster than my desktop

Yes, The Intel T7400 in my Dell XPS m1710 runs circles around my P4 3.2 ghz Prescott desktop cpu.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: CPU Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by KurrentEweser View Post
Yes, The Intel T7400 in my Dell XPS m1710 runs circles around my P4 3.2 ghz Prescott desktop cpu.
Because they are different architectures...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 11:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: CPU Speed

Alrigh teveryone thanks for all of the help
__________________

TAH1020 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bizzare CPU Speed question Higach Laptops and Notebooks 6 01-12-2008 08:41 AM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Ram timings vs Cpu clock speed neilnpatel Overclocking and Modding 4 10-29-2007 04:47 AM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM
What is the difference between CPU speed and Clock speed? fcui21 System Upgrades 2 09-29-2007 01:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.