CPU Speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2008, 01:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Default CPU Speed

I have a quick question. I am thinking about purchasing a laptop and one of the things I need it for is gaming. Do the processor speeds in laptops work the same a the ones in desktops? Like would i still need 2.4GHz on a laptop to run cod4? If so does anyone have any sugggestions? Thanks in advance.
__________________

TAH1020 is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 02:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: CPU Speed

most laptops now are dual cores. the lowest clock speed i have seen in a dual core is 1.6 ghz (3.2 total ghz). you should be fine for the cpu.
__________________

__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 01:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: CPU Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcovalt View Post
most laptops now are dual cores. the lowest clock speed i have seen in a dual core is 1.6 ghz (3.2 total ghz). you should be fine for the cpu.
You don't add the cores for a "total" clock speed...
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 02:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: CPU Speed

So when it's dual core it doubles the GHz?
TAH1020 is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 03:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: CPU Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by TAH1020 View Post
So when it's dual core it doubles the GHz?
apparently not
__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 04:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: CPU Speed

Laptop cpu's run at lower clock speeds, just like desktop ones do nowadays. Ghz aren't really particularly important anymore. It's all about cache size, fsb speeds, architectures, # of cores, etc. And no, you wouldn't double the ghz speed just because a processor is dual core. It doesn't work like that.

For a rule of thumb you can knock off circa 40% off of that 2.4ghz number to get the equivalent laptop speed. That's not particularly firm but it can work. Or just go to Can You RUN It? to see if your particular laptop can run certain games. It will often give you a desktop-appropriate speed rating for your laptop's processor. For example, it sees the 1.1 ghz Centrino in my ultra portable laptop as "Rated At 1.65ghz" to help translate from laptop to desktop clock speeds. Hope that helps at least some...
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 10:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: CPU Speed

Yea thanks that helped a lot. Can anyone give me an aproximate laptop GHz that could equal upto 2.4? Dont want to buy one and then have it not working, lol.
TAH1020 is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 01:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: CPU Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by TAH1020 View Post
So when it's dual core it doubles the GHz?
No. Yes, each core runs at XXGHz, but you do NOT add the cores together for a "total" GHz. If that'd be true, then that means I overclocked my CPU to 7.06GHz...and its not running at that.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 01:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: CPU Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcovalt View Post
most laptops now are dual cores. the lowest clock speed i have seen in a dual core is 1.6 ghz (3.2 total ghz). you should be fine for the cpu.
You DO NOT add up the clock speeds!!!
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 05:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: CPU Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
No. Yes, each core runs at XXGHz, but you do NOT add the cores together for a "total" GHz. If that'd be true, then that means I overclocked my CPU to 7.06GHz...and its not running at that.
lol. i'd be running at 12GHz plus. also games these days still seem to be giving requirements in Pentium 4 frequencies i believe. i think there is a definite need for a standard rating for processors these days.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bizzare CPU Speed question Higach Laptops and Notebooks 6 01-12-2008 08:41 AM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Ram timings vs Cpu clock speed neilnpatel Overclocking and Modding 4 10-29-2007 04:47 AM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM
What is the difference between CPU speed and Clock speed? fcui21 System Upgrades 2 09-29-2007 01:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.