Core Duo Confusion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2010, 03:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Exclamation Core Duo Confusion

Hi,

I'm confused wondering if someone can help.

I'd like to know if a Centrino Duo 1.66 GHz Procecssor means 3.32 GHz total or two cores of 8.03 MHz

Cheers
__________________

RedRide is offline  
Old 04-11-2010, 04:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Core Duo Confusion

Hi,

Centrino Duo isn't a processor per se, but rather a laptop platform (or marketing brand name) referring to the combination of a chipset, processor and wireless adapter.

As for multi-core processors, what your processor has is two cores operating at 1.66 GHz - this is how you should see it. Note however that a system with a dual core processor doesn't necessarily provide twice the performance of a system with a single core processor operating at the same clock speed.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-11-2010, 05:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Core Duo Confusion

You can't just add the two cores together - it isn't that simple.

But generally speaking if you get a core 2 duo at 1.6, that means you have two processors running 1.6 on the same dye. Neither will run above 1.6, but mathematically speaking you could do more processing with two cores of 1.6 because mathmatically it is more efficient.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 04-11-2010, 06:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: Core Duo Confusion

Thanks guys
RedRide is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 10:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: Core Duo Confusion

ok heres my questions, does the same logic apply to the intel core i3, i5, and i7? cuz i notice everytime i look up the specs of a computer with i7, it always appears below 2.0GHz..
blaize is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combine two parts deathville New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-21-2010 07:28 PM
Setting up SMP james.wired Folding @ Home 91 01-13-2010 06:06 PM
Will Intel Core 2 Duo work on older motherboards with the same socket? Cryora System Upgrades 2 12-27-2009 01:29 AM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
WTS/WTT for a Core 2 Duo processor mtb2005 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-11-2007 09:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.