Core Duo Confusion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2010, 02:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Exclamation Core Duo Confusion


I'm confused wondering if someone can help.

I'd like to know if a Centrino Duo 1.66 GHz Procecssor means 3.32 GHz total or two cores of 8.03 MHz


RedRide is offline  
Old 04-11-2010, 03:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re: Core Duo Confusion


Centrino Duo isn't a processor per se, but rather a laptop platform (or marketing brand name) referring to the combination of a chipset, processor and wireless adapter.

As for multi-core processors, what your processor has is two cores operating at 1.66 GHz - this is how you should see it. Note however that a system with a dual core processor doesn't necessarily provide twice the performance of a system with a single core processor operating at the same clock speed.


|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-11-2010, 04:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Lexluethar's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Core Duo Confusion

You can't just add the two cores together - it isn't that simple.

But generally speaking if you get a core 2 duo at 1.6, that means you have two processors running 1.6 on the same dye. Neither will run above 1.6, but mathematically speaking you could do more processing with two cores of 1.6 because mathmatically it is more efficient.
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 04-11-2010, 05:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: Core Duo Confusion

Thanks guys
RedRide is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 09:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: Core Duo Confusion

ok heres my questions, does the same logic apply to the intel core i3, i5, and i7? cuz i notice everytime i look up the specs of a computer with i7, it always appears below 2.0GHz..
blaize is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combine two parts deathville New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-21-2010 06:28 PM
Setting up SMP james.wired Folding @ Home 91 01-13-2010 05:06 PM
Will Intel Core 2 Duo work on older motherboards with the same socket? Cryora System Upgrades 2 12-27-2009 12:29 AM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 07:27 AM
WTS/WTT for a Core 2 Duo processor mtb2005 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-11-2007 08:11 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.