connection to router - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2009, 12:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default connection to router

hi
I love to use my laptop outside in the yard while allowing my dog to play.

I am curious to know if its common for it to want to only connect to "local" connection instead of internet.

I many times have to disconnect and reconnect 4-5 times before it makes a full connection.

Is there just a setting i missed when setting all this up?
I go other places with my laptop and it connects right in.

thanks in advance for any advice you can give me.

monica
__________________

huntyr is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 12:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: connection to router

It just means that your wifi signal is not strong enough to connect to the internet. How many bars does it say you have (signal)?

also, are you using the built in wifi that comes with the laptop, or do you have an external card?

lastly, how far are you from your router when the internet starts connecting? avg wifi G goes about 100m (300ft) through open air, with no walls/trees/etc between the base and node. throw a couple walls in and that 300ft can drop down to 75ft (same issue here, i have a usb adapter on two usb extention cables and a usb hub hanging from the ceiling to get signal lol.)

maybe try and sit closer to your router when your outside? quick simple fix imo
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 01:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: connection to router

thanks I wondered if that was all it was but thought I would ask to see if it was a setting I had wrong or not.

I appreciate the response!
huntyr is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 04:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: connection to router

no problem^^
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Belkin Router dropping connection DaPurpleRT Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 01-25-2009 09:52 PM
stable connection problem pokmin100 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 07-27-2008 01:59 AM
new log 05/13 generalaxes HijackThis Logs (finished) 26 06-05-2008 09:43 PM
Configure XP to share internet connection with wireless router Blizzard596 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 10-14-2007 10:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.