Connect Laptop To TV. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2008, 07:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Exclamation Connect Laptop To TV.

I'd like to view my laptop screen on the TV so I can look at some stuff. My laptop is a Toshiba Equium and it only has VGA output [THat blue15pin one]. My TV is a new Samsung HDTV and it's got loads of inputs, what do I need to ba able to connect the two?
__________________

shadowfish is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Connect Laptop To TV.

Has you TV got a VGA input on the back I know some Samsung ones do.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK.
Posts: 10
Default Re: Connect Laptop To TV.

If there is a vga input on the back of the tv you should be able to link it up ok. Usually you just press a couple of keys to get it up on the hdtv (assuming its on the pc channel). On my Dell laptop you just hold down the fn key and press f8 then it comes on.
Hope that helps

Andy
Poe1974 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Connect Laptop To TV.

and make sure the video in your laptop supports whatever res you want to run at. I know my mom's old one didnt, so we got a little computer to put under the TV to watch hd tv without the whole.. paying for hd tuner and all.

Did your TV come with a vga cable? it should have if your tv has that input
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 09:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Connect Laptop To TV.

If your tv doesn't have VGA input, it may also have HDMI or DVI in which case you are still in business, just get the respective output to VGA cable.

If it doesn't have ANY of those, then you can still attach it with S-Video, but the quality will be lacking, and don't expect to read text easily.
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect laptop with wired network problem? ubeyou Laptops and Notebooks 0 01-12-2008 08:28 AM
Any way to connect Internal CD Drive to Laptop sonik Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-13-2007 12:12 PM
Can I use my wireless Laptop to connect my desktop dashogun Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-09-2007 01:37 PM
Vista Laptop won't connect to XP network printer thesteeles Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 04-20-2007 01:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.