Confused about RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2009, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Default Confused about RAM

In several places I've seen things saying RAM comes in sizes of 256mb, 512 etc. but in other places I've seen people saying stuff like "I bought 2gb of RAM today". I'm confused.
__________________

Chris C177 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 02:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Confused about RAM

Yes you can buy ram in stick up to 2gb.

The real question is what laptop do you have, what ram can it use and what is the maximum size dimm that will work with it.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 02:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Confused about RAM

Ram actually comes in up to 4GB per stick. And technically, they are not 2GB even. 1GB = 1024MB and 2GB = 2048MB. We just use even whole numbers for simplicity instead of saying "I got a 2.048GB stick of RAM today!"
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 02:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: Confused about RAM

Doesnt the Crucial scanner thing tell you all that? Or am I wrong?

And thanks, sorry for being such an idiot. I'm not that great with computers xD
Chris C177 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 02:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Confused about RAM

Yes the Crucial tool is usually very accurate at telling you what you can use.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 02:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Confused about RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
Ram actually comes in up to 4GB per stick. And technically, they are not 2GB even. 1GB = 1024MB and 2GB = 2048MB. We just use even whole numbers for simplicity instead of saying "I got a 2.048GB stick of RAM today!"
Hey, that made me think; won't there be some sort of weird jump from 32GB to 65GB (when doubling) due to overlap of the rest of the number?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 02:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Confused about RAM

^Lol probably not. They have 64GB flash memory USB drives and such that didn't label it as 65GB
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 03:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Confused about RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
^Lol probably not. They have 64GB flash memory USB drives and such that didn't label it as 65GB
True that. But in actuality aren't they 65,536MB?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 03:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Confused about RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
True that. But in actuality aren't they 65,536MB?
I assume so It really makes you think, though. Because what about once you get to 128, 256, and 512GB? That would be way off by that point....

Now i'm confusing myself and I am forgetting exactly how hard drive sizes are figured.... Oh dear I best go look it up quick as that is not a good thing to forget.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-11-2009, 01:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Confused about RAM

find out what pin count you have before you go and buy sticks.. DDR or DDR2 have different spacings. It should say on your stock sticks.
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Question dem0x7 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 06-04-2009 10:20 AM
New RAM upgrade acting up shaf3y Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-24-2009 06:32 PM
Motherboard ram support (need help) UpLiNk System Upgrades 4 01-26-2009 08:03 AM
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.