Compaq V60000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2012, 06:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
swibit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 111
Default Compaq V60000

A relative recently asked me to look at their Compaq V60000 laptop. The laptop will turn on and can hold charge. The problem is, the computer won't get past the boot screen and keeps rebooting. I have no display coming from the laptop. Is there anything I can do to check whether it's a hardware/software problem? Obviously can't see the options it's giving me on screen cause of no display.
__________________

__________________
This is my signature. Happy? :cool:
swibit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 09:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Compaq V60000

Hi, Stewie.

If you take the HDD out, will it detect that there is no bootable medium? If not, I am thinking it is a RAM problem. Do you have 2 Dimm slots? Try taking out one.

Also, have you tried this without the battery in?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 11:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Compaq V60000

When you say there's no display, is there none at all? None even the BIOS splash screen? If so, try hooking it up to an external monitor to see if you can at least get a picture.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 11:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Compaq V60000

Now that I think of it, if the backlight is bad, you can test it by shining a flashlight at the screen at a 45* angle. If you see anything at all, your backlight is toast.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 05:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
swibit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 111
Default Re: Compaq V60000

So you think that regardless if there is bootable medium in there, if I shine a flashlight, I'll be able to check the screen?
__________________
This is my signature. Happy? :cool:
swibit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 06:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Compaq V60000

You should see a splash screen right away. If you can't get the flashlight thing to work, try the external monitor.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play Time for Compaq (Installing Linux on Compaq) yaminohaka Linux and Open Source 15 07-30-2007 06:00 PM
what is up with hp and compaq? asusman System Upgrades 4 08-07-2006 05:20 PM
Compaq jaybee Off Topic Discussion 2 04-27-2005 10:30 AM
From Compaq to....... FireFox Off Topic Discussion 5 09-10-2004 02:30 PM
C:> on a compaq BASSMAN11 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 10-10-2003 07:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.