Compaq Presario V2000 CPU Fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2008, 08:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: California
Posts: 2
Unhappy Compaq Presario V2000 CPU Fan

I have a Presario V2000 and the CPU fan went out. First it got noisy then I guess it just quit. Now the computer shuts down because of inadequate cooling. On the bench the fan runs but is noisy. My question is if I buy a new fan will it work or does Compaq fuse the fan circuit when it overcurrents because of a defective fan. If so, where is the fuse and is it a surface mount soldered into the fan circuit.
__________________

mpumas is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 08:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Compaq Presario V2000 CPU Fan

Fans don't have fuses, the fan just pooped out. Call Compaq about this and they might offer you a replacement.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 01:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: California
Posts: 2
Question Re: Compaq Presario V2000 CPU Fan

Peter, you say fans are not fused. Does that include laptops and is the fan on all the time or does it go through a thermal switch and/or does the CPU control the on/off? My concern it that if I buy a new fan and something else is fried, then I haven't fixed the problem.
mpumas is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 07:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Compaq Presario V2000 CPU Fan

I doubt the fan is fried. Fans are controlled by thermal sensors on the motherboard, CPU, and other areas of the PC. If certain ones (CPU especially) get too hot, the PC powers off to prevent damage. It can also detect the RPM (speed) of the fan, and if the fan isn't spinning fast enough/at all, then it will also shut down due to defective fan. Most likely the fan runs on the bench because there's less stuff in the way...an old desktop of mine did that, where fan would run if I held it in my hand, but not in the PC. My desktop also kept shutting off one time after I worked on it because I forgot to plug the CPU fan back in. I highly doubt the fan circuit is dead, fans are mechanical devices that wear out as they spin, get dust in the motor, and get worn away by friction. Just ask Compaq for a replacement, and if you can't get one, look online for a replacement fan.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Do oem cpu come with heatsink and fan? dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-21-2007 08:46 PM
Iffy about a Compaq Presario laptop. Arumuni Laptops and Notebooks 10 07-15-2007 07:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.