Compaq Presario R3000 Charging. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2008, 01:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Compaq Presario R3000 Charging.

This problem has been a problem with many HP and Compaq laptops, the charger slowly stops working and becomes useless. This is what has happened to one of my HP laptops and now to my Compaq laptop. The charger port (the external charger is fine) has become lose and doesn't charge. Has anyone had this problem before and managed to fix it? or does anyone know how to fix it.

All help is greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 01:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Compaq Presario R3000 Charging.

Replacing Laptop Power Jack

A similar questions was asked already. Check in there for some answers.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Compaq Presario R3000 Charging.

What this means is the jack connector inside the PC has come loose from the circuit board. If you use it a lot, the solder can break and lose connection. It should be a pretty simple fix, though. Open up your laptop, take out the motherboard, find the connector, and touch the solder connections to the port with a soldering iron to reflow the connections. Test it before you put it back together.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 02:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Compaq Presario R3000 Charging.

Ok do you know where I can get a new port for the laptop?
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 02:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Compaq Presario R3000 Charging.

Why not just solder the old one back on? Even with a new one you would have to solder it to the same spot.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Compaq Presario R3000 Charging.

it hasnt come off of the motherboard the actual port is ruined...
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 02:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Compaq Presario R3000 Charging.

Ah, so...that's different lol. I would go to RadioShack with your charger. They can find what size the plug on it is. If they sell jacks, make sure it has the same configuration as your board. Best thing to do is look online for your laptop model and see where you can buy the part. If all else, and you don't mind it looking a bit odd, you can replace both ends (the motherboard connector and the charger plug) with different matching ends.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 02:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Compaq Presario R3000 Charging.

Quick google search turned up this:
Compaq R3000 laptop power jack : CQ51425

That looks like the part you'll probably need.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 02:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Compaq Presario R3000 Charging.

thanks
__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrades for Compaq Presario C500 Notebook amsoil Laptops and Notebooks 5 05-18-2008 09:06 PM
Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario dannyual767 Laptops and Notebooks 8 04-25-2008 09:18 AM
Can I use my Compaq Presario Case? bmull System Upgrades 18 10-29-2007 06:24 PM
Iffy about a Compaq Presario laptop. Arumuni Laptops and Notebooks 10 07-15-2007 07:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.