Compaq Presario C304NR - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2010, 04:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: That one place
Posts: 223
Default Compaq Presario C304NR

My uncle borrowed someone money and they gave him this laptop to hold. Person will not pay him so he gets the laptop. Not sure what their relationship is. Anyways to the point The guy has a Power On Password my uncle don't know it and the guy that owes him money did not give it to him. My uncle wants me to help him not sure how to. My only guess is that he is screwed out of money until he pays him back. I'm not hacker so I don't know. Could I remove the CMOS battery? will that do it or is that only for BIOS Passwords and Toshiba's? Any help or comments will do thank you for your timed.

Nevermind read the hp website and he is screwed!

techleaner is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 08:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Compaq Presario C304NR

How so is he screwed?

If this is at BIOS, just take the CMOS battery out, wait a few minutes and reinsert.

If it is at the OS level, there are many ways you can change that.

__________________ Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 08:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: That one place
Posts: 223
Default Re: Compaq Presario C304NR

Nah its the (Power On Password), a password to even let the power on, it says on HP website that you have to take it to one of their places to have HP remove it.
techleaner is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 09:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: That one place
Posts: 223
Default Re: Compaq Presario C304NR

now i've been reading around and some are saying taking apart the laptop and fiddling around with the cmos jumper but with this model i'm not sure where to look for this jumper cable and what pins
techleaner is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade help on COMPAQ Presario SR1365CL kramt System Upgrades 1 01-17-2010 09:59 AM
Compaq Presario 3410US f_lightning2001 Laptops and Notebooks 7 09-28-2009 05:14 PM
Compaq Presario R3000 Charging. 35g700 Laptops and Notebooks 8 06-01-2008 01:33 PM
Iffy about a Compaq Presario laptop. Arumuni Laptops and Notebooks 10 07-15-2007 06:45 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.