Compaq Presario 3410US - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2009, 01:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 57
Send a message via MSN to f_lightning2001
Default Compaq Presario 3410US

Does anyone know if you can upgrade the processor on a Compaq Presario 3410US.
__________________

f_lightning2001 is offline  
Old 09-25-2009, 12:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Compaq Presario 3410US

You take the entire laptop apart, then put the new processor in the old one's place. With laptops you can only purchase a few different versions of the processor you already have (usually the ones that they already offered when purchasing the laptop).

I know with other compaq's you take it apart, then get to the heatsink and take that off, under that is the processor, you take that out and replace it with the new processor (obviously must be the same socket and it would be wise to stick with the same model otherwise you will run into overheating).
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 04:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 57
Send a message via MSN to f_lightning2001
Default Re: Compaq Presario 3410US

Okay, thanks. It is my moms' computer and she was wanting me to do some upgrades to it and I didn't know if the processor could be swapped out with a better one. Right now it has a 797Mhz. It's only 4 years old though.
f_lightning2001 is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 08:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Compaq Presario 3410US

Quote:
Originally Posted by f_lightning2001 View Post
Okay, thanks. It is my moms' computer and she was wanting me to do some upgrades to it and I didn't know if the processor could be swapped out with a better one. Right now it has a 797Mhz. It's only 4 years old though.
Buy a new laptop.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 08:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Compaq Presario 3410US

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
Buy a new laptop.
I have to agree with Zedman on this. By the time you find a chip that is compatible with the mobo, you will be spending an arm and leg to get it. Your talking Pentium M chips which are more expensive than Core i7 chips cause they are so rare. You would be better off buying a new netbook or small notebook.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 11:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Compaq Presario 3410US

I agree with the others, and just to add to it you won't be able to get a processor that is a ton faster. Generally speaking you'll only get a few hundred mhz difference.

On a laptop just stick to upgrading the hard drive and RAM, aside from that you really should purchase a new laptop.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 09-27-2009, 11:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Compaq Presario 3410US

Yeah, too expensive and too much work for very little performance gain. You should just invest in a new one.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 06:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 57
Send a message via MSN to f_lightning2001
Default Re: Compaq Presario 3410US

Okay. Thanks a lot everyone for all your input. I will pass this on to my mom. Thanks again for all the input.
__________________

f_lightning2001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compaq Presario V6000 Troubles bigbaby338 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-15-2009 11:00 AM
Need Driver: Compaq Presario C700T CTO Notebook PC InkiLab Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-25-2008 10:10 AM
Compaq Presario V2000 CPU Fan mpumas Laptops and Notebooks 3 01-19-2008 07:04 PM
Iffy about a Compaq Presario laptop. Arumuni Laptops and Notebooks 10 07-15-2007 07:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.