compaq nc8430 fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2015, 11:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default compaq nc8430 fan

so i have inherited my wifes old laptop, after mine died. this is a Compaq nc8430, that has had windows 7 installed on it. there is a bulletin on this model, because the cooling fan runs continuously when its connected to the a/c adapter.

HP Support document - HP Support Center

i am having trouble getting into the computer setup part of this. i am guessing that the f10 button has a different function in windows 7, than it did in XP. so i need some help getting to where i need to go. i have tried on my own for about an hour. i am finding lots of things, just not the correct spot. can someone point me in the correct direction please?
__________________

XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 11:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: compaq nc8430 fan

You don't press F10 while you're in Windows 7. You have to press the Esc key at the splash screen when you first start up your computer (where it shows the Compaq logo, and should say "Press Esc for startup menu". Then, you'll be prompted with a text menu, where you need to press F10 to go into Setup.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 11:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: compaq nc8430 fan

sorry, my bad. i did as the bulletin said. except when the splash screen appears, there is no option to press esc to enter set up mode. the 2 options are .... press f9 for boot device or press f10 for rom based setup. so i tried pressing esc anyway, it takes me to a screen that has to do with memory diagnostics. if i try pressing the f10 button, crud, i can not remember, brb
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 12:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: compaq nc8430 fan

You'll want to press F10 then instead of Esc.

They probably just wrote up generic instructions that applied to most of the affected systems.

"ROM based setup" should be the same thing - you're essentially just going into BIOS/Setup and changing an option.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 12:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: compaq nc8430 fan

never mind. it worked. i must have always been pressing escape first.. that, or my timing was off. the time allotted is pretty short for an old geezer, who can hardly see. i would like to type lol, but its just not funny. anyway, thanks for the help. now if it actually works. right now the fans are still running. i am going t do a full shut down, then turn it back on, and see what happens.
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 12:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: compaq nc8430 fan

No problem, good luck.

And the fans will run as long as the temp is high enough for them to kick on, even if that setting is switched.

May be best to also use a can of compressed air, and blow out the vents/fans.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 12:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: compaq nc8430 fan

well, the computer was pretty warm. but 10 minutes in 3 degree outdoor air solved that problem fast1 the problem was i did not save it properly. i had to go back in and do it again. i am pretty darn good about keeping all of our computers clean. i was shown how many years ago, and i blow them out regularly. my sons new, as i call it, 'SUPERcomputer' we have on a once a month cleaning schedule. with dogs in the house, and a forced air heating system, combined with the 8+ fans on his case, a lot of air moves thru it, and therefore a lot of dust as well. he was surprised how much had accumulated in a 1 month time. but i wasn't. we might have to switch to a better filter for the furnace. when i was young, and into music a lot, i built a cabinette for all the stereo equipment, that had 2 fans and air filters on each end. the fans pulled cool air in, and pushed hot air out, and large air filters at the top and bottom of the case to keep things clean. it worked well, but the fans were just regular household fans (computer fans were not yet mainstream items), and added noise. with the stereo pumping, the noise was not at all noticeable. but when i wanted quieter music, the fans had to be turned off. but as i aged, and music became less important, all of that went away. i thought about a similar set up for his computer, but he said it would be to ugly. so, we will just pop the side off once a month. and bring in the air tank.
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 09:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: compaq nc8430 fan

black nylon stocking (steal one from your wife) makes for a decent DIY case fan filter, Of course you'll have to cut it to size and if you can make a frame for it, it'll be a nice case mod
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 07:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: compaq nc8430 fan

that's a good idea. thanx!
__________________

XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compaq Persario V2000 Cooling Fan issue wes77 Laptops and Notebooks 2 12-23-2008 05:51 PM
Compaq Presario V2000 CPU Fan mpumas Laptops and Notebooks 3 01-19-2008 07:04 PM
Play Time for Compaq (Installing Linux on Compaq) yaminohaka Linux and Open Source 15 07-30-2007 06:00 PM
Compaq pres 6000 Fan cuts on very loud jamie7823 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-15-2006 12:46 PM
System Fan and CPU Fan Bleep Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 11-13-2003 02:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.