Compaq armada 1700 upgrade advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2007, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Exclamation Compaq armada 1700 upgrade advice

Hey I'm back after a good while

I have some questions that maybe some of you can help out with.

I just now acquired a brand new compaq armada 1700 from a good friend of mine. He said he's only used it twice and never laid eyes on it again after he got a dell desktop....

I need to know if this laptop will take anywhere from 300mhz to 700mhz with speed step 3 enabled on the mobo ? I heard guy on a forum pushed his armada 1700 to 750mhz without killling it... is that possible even though I have a p2 233 running at 100fsb ?

Also I will put in a 40gig HDD in this laptop as well as increasing the ram to 160mb... The reason why I am doing this because I will be leaving behing windows 98SE and moving on to windows 2000 also I will be taking this labtop on small trips or for business usage and maybe play some games on it.

I need to know if this will be possible at all.

1.Week 1 CPU upgrade.
2.Week 2 HDD upgrade
3.week 3 final memory upgrade.

will I need a bios update to do the required upgrading tasks ?
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 01:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: Compaq armada 1700 upgrade advice

CPU:
Your laptop uses a MMCI style socket, so it's not upgradeable to Mobile PIII, and you are limited to 66MHz FSB. If your model was a 1750, it would be upgradeable to a Mobile PIII since it uses MMCII. If your processor is indeed running at 100MHz FSB, that might mean you have a 1750. You should double check your FSB speed and your model. But if you have a regular 1700, that means the fastest processor you can get for it is a Mobile PII at 333MHz, and those are limited to the following models: SL2WY, SL2TV, SL2KA, SL2QF, SL2QH, and SL2S5- which unfortunately are not capable of overclocking to 700MHz as this guy claimed. Conclusion: While you could increase your clock speed with an upgrade, the performance differences will likely be unnoticeable, especially if you are 'used to' a modern processor. But if you have a 1750, you should be able to go to the fastest 100MHz FSB Mobile PIII (MMCII).

Memory:
Memory usually has low limits on these old computers, and I think your model (assuming you have a 1700) has 32MB onboard, and one upgradable slot. This means you can probably only upgrade it to 32MB + 128MB = 160MB, so you will need a single 128MB 144-pin SODIMM @ 66MHz. You can install it by lifting the keyboard, pulling out the old stick (if there's one there, and clipping in the new one).

Hard Drive:
It's unlikely that your computer is limited to 8GB's. You should be able to install any reasonably sized hard drive (30GB will probably do nicely). Since this is a smaller notebook, it might take a 1.8", but I'm not sure. It's definitely PATA.

BIOS:
The big rule for messing with BIOS is "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". So I wouldn't bother flashing to the latest revision unless it's not being friendly with the upgrades.

Good luck with your upgrades, and most importantly: finding the parts for cheap. You may find that you might be better off investing in a new system.
__________________

__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 07:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Compaq armada 1700 upgrade advice

Thanks kubel for your help... this laptop will do for now, but I have question though, when my friend jim gave his laptop yesterday he said the LCD screen would dim down so much that I would't be to see a **** thing, not unless I tap it.... also I have noticed the screens color is weak and it seems like the LCD screen is messed up he thinks its the wiring inside the screen.

I have found the exact same screen on ebay in good condition.

COMPAQ ARMADA 1700 LAPTOP LCD 12" SCREEN w/ LID, HINGES - (eBay item 290165928597 end time Oct-06-07 12:49:59 PDT)

If the LCD screen is bad would I need to get this or possibly check and see if the video card is bad and can be replaced if its not onboard the mobo

Also I'm hoping I can get this screen, but people on ebay are like freakin wolves and can get quite nasty when bidding on a item you truly want.

Thanks again

p.s. I got the new ram already I'll install this at work later on.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 11:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: Compaq armada 1700 upgrade advice

You can eliminate the motherboard/video card from being the cause by plugging it into an external monitor and seeing if it does it there. If it doesn't, it's most likely a screen issue.

It could be a number of problems (like the backlight), or simply a lose connection, but for $9.99, you might as well just replace the entire screen, since you will have to take it apart to diagnose it anyway. The saturation issue probably won't be fixed by a new screen since Compaq wasn't known for using the best of screens back in the day. But it should fix the dimming issue.
__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 11:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Compaq armada 1700 upgrade advice

sorry about the 4-5 day bump, but I need some help does anyone know where I can find a full guide on taking a apart this armada 1700 ? I managed to get halfway inside the laptop by reaching the ram, cmos battery and some other stuff... I just bought a new p2 II 366 CPU off of ebay and I'm going to install this on my laptop. I asked compaq but they don't know what their talking about when it comes to their old pc's and laptop's.

Also I almost managed to get the bottom part of the laptop open but I don't want to snap it apart and have it be destroyed....

Thanks for any help.
400133-001 / Intel Mobile Pentium II Processor 366MHz - (eBay item 150154375399 end time Oct-22-07 09:35:18 PDT)
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 03:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: Compaq armada 1700 upgrade advice

Index of /~ze5170/MadMikeXP
__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 03:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Compaq armada 1700 upgrade advice

Thank you kubel again for the help! I'm going to download this to my HDD if you don't mind... when the cpu comes this monday I plan working on my laptop from 7:00pm to 11:45pm and upgrade it and learn more about laptop reparing. My comptia A+ teacher said it's good to know about desktops and macs and such he said fixing or reparing laptop is a very good skill to know when doing it for you or customers.

Also one other ebay member contacted me last night he said he has a 500mhz dell cpx p3 that will work with laptop but he said the compaq would minimize it to 400mhz 433mhz.

Thanks
MadMikeXP
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 08:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: Compaq armada 1700 upgrade advice

I hope it helps. Just a word of advice: keep track of all the screws. I was working on my brothers laptop (Gateway) and it had so many different sized screws. We got them mixed up and he ended up driving a long screw through the bottom of the palm rest (oops).

I learned from his mistake. From now on when working on laptops, I keep a big piece of paper around and poke the screws through the paper at the approximate location they are at on the bottom of the laptop. That way I know what screw goes where when I put it all back together.

As far as the P3- I'm not aware of any P3's available for MMC1 style sockets. It would be a nice upgrade if it fit though.
__________________

__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM
CPU upgrade advice bmass New Systems | Building and Buying 24 07-02-2007 12:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.