Compaq 510 RAM Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2012, 03:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dubai
Posts: 6
Default Compaq 510 RAM Upgrade

I have quick question, I came across 4 GB laptop RAM for discount price online. Can I upgrade my brothers existing laptop? Its a Compaq 510, Currently it has 1GB RAM. We really do not want to re install operating system (win 7)

Thanks in advance
__________________

adouza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 04:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Compaq 510 RAM Upgrade

According to HP's website, the laptop accepts a maximum memory of 4GB, so yes you could upgrade it. However, you must make sure that the memory you're planning to buy is compatible with that particular laptop otherwise you can fry your motherboard. I recommend going to www.crucial.com and running the system scanner to compare the recommended compatible memory against the memory you found if you're not sure it's compatible.
__________________

Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 04:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Compaq 510 RAM Upgrade

^Crucial is a good resource, +1
Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 12:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dubai
Posts: 6
Default Re: Compaq 510 RAM Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorax_the_Impaler View Post
According to HP's website, the laptop accepts a maximum memory of 4GB, so yes you could upgrade it. However, you must make sure that the memory you're planning to buy is compatible with that particular laptop otherwise you can fry your motherboard. I recommend going to www.crucial.com and running the system scanner to compare the recommended compatible memory against the memory you found if you're not sure it's compatible.

Thank you so much. I will run the scan as you suggested.
adouza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 12:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dubai
Posts: 6
Default Re: Compaq 510 RAM Upgrade

Your System Specs for the HP 308A (510/nc6220) model.

Memory:

DDR2 PC2-6400, DDR2 PC2-5300 Memory Type: DDR2 PC2-6400, DDR2 PC2-5300, DDR2 (non-ECC)
Maximum Memory: 2GB
Currently Installed Memory: 2GB
Total Memory Slots: 2
Available Memory Slots: 0


Its suggesting me to use:
4GB
DDR2 PC2-6400 • CL=6 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR2-800 • 1.8V • 512Meg x 64 • • Part #: CT2401555
adouza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 01:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Compaq 510 RAM Upgrade

yep, that seems right. Shop around on Amazon, etc.
Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 09:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dubai
Posts: 6
Default Re: Compaq 510 RAM Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt77 View Post
yep, that seems right. Shop around on Amazon, etc.

Thank you so much
__________________

adouza is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compaq, laptop

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.