College Laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dowd11

Baseband Member
Hey all,
heading to college this Aug for a major in Aviation Tech. I was wondering what type, make, model laptop should i buy for school? Please make sure you break down the differences between each type (netbook notebook etc), model and make as Im new to laptops (desktop guy myself). I will use the 'top to take notes in class, write reports and surf internet, therefore I need a rig thats comfortable to type on, portable and tough, long battery life and would love one with a snappy response and quick wakeup. I doubt I will use it as anything very CPU intensive but would like to be able to multi-task efficiently. I do have an older HP DV6000 and was wondering how much it might cost and what i would do to make it work on par with the laptops being released now.
(If you can give me 2 choices that would be great, one where money is no object and a budget choice that would be awesome!)
Thanks for all the help,
Dowd

As far as upgrading your current laptop, generally its the best idea to just buy a new own. Unlike desktops, laptops are pretty pricy to upgrade due to their small size. You mentioned multitasking so your going to want some RAM probably 3+ GB as far as processing power, if your not going to do anything too crazy, a dual core should work fine.
Money- Newegg.com - TOSHIBA Qosmio X505-Q888 NoteBook Intel Core i7 740QM(1.73GHz) 18.4" 4GB Memory DDR3 1066 500GB HDD 7200rpm BD Combo NVIDIA GeForce GTS 360M
^^^Not for the style so much as the large screen size, i7 processor, optical drive(supports blu-ray)
Cons- not long battery life, pricey, heavy.

Bang for buck -Newegg.com - Acer Aspire TimelineX AS3820T-6480 Notebook Intel Core i3 380M(2.53GHz) 13.3" 4GB Memory DDR3 1066 500GB HDD 5400rpm Intel HD Graphics

Let me know if you have any more questions- Hope this helped!
-Roar-