Cant See Display - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2011, 11:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Cant See Display

So Hey guys i recently dropped my laptop and now i cant see the display, and since i just sent my desktop to cyberpower to be repaired i got nothing to do.

The laptop is an HP Pavilion Dv6 3122us AMD Turion II 2.4 Ghz 4 GB DDR3 500 gb hdd. So the problem is i can turn on the laptop but i cant see any display. So does anyone know what the problem would be. I tried hooking a vga monitor to it but it didnt work either and also i have the hard drive out of it right now so could that be the problem?
__________________

Talyor is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 11:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Cant See Display

Most likely there is something wrong with your GFX card.

The hard drive is the least likely culprit here.

What side did you bang it on?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 12:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Cant See Display

where it holds the display and the gpu but when i start the comp the fan for the gpu runs, Im not really sure if its the gpu it might just be a fan for the laptop
Talyor is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Cant See Display

Normally, a laptop GPU doesn't have a fan. It's just passively cooled.

That is most likely your CPU side fan.

Try opening your case, if you can, and investigate your GPU. Could be that it just got dislodged.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 02:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Cant See Display

i wish i knew where the gpu was lol and idk if its an onboard videocard so i guess im pretty screwed.
Talyor is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 03:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Cant See Display

Well, normally, it is located where the VGA port is.

Just never get HP again.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 04:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Cant See Display

Dont worry next computer ill get ill just build one just amazing how much pieces of crap HP is
Talyor is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 04:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Cant See Display

ill probally have to end up doing this..
Talyor is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Cant See Display

That won't matter. If your external monitor will not work, it is a problem with your GFX card, not your LCD screen.

BTW, you can't build your own laptop. You can build off a barebone, but that is pricey to do.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 268
Default Re: Cant See Display

When you connect an external monitor you might need to hold the function key (FN) and the display key, which is usually one of the F keys

Some laptops will automatically switch and display on an external screen but not all, so you may have to do it manually.

The problem you have could be a number of things such as a damaged motherboard, graphics chip/card, screen, screen inverter and even just a dislodged or broken cable connecting the screen to the motherboard.

It can be hard to troubleshoot issues like this online and usually are better solved by having someone take a look at it
__________________

Frosty is a Snowman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung Mobile Display show 6.5 inch Flexible AMOLED Display joelm3103 Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 02-25-2010 02:02 AM
Secondary Display Not Available On a Dual-Display Video Card Blizzard596 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 06-22-2009 11:30 AM
Cannot get a display, cannot fix display issue with no display Rgortiz3 Microsoft Windows and Software 12 06-15-2009 06:34 PM
LCD Display takes long time to display picture upon startup Drewser Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-11-2007 06:50 PM
Very Dim Display on Dell smartstep 250N laptop: lcd display or backlight? amillindsay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-09-2005 10:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.