Cant Change Boot Device/Order On Laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2015, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Post Cant Change Boot Device/Order On Laptop

Hey guys, I'm back on my old toshiba tecra m9 that I hardly use. I want it to dual boot w10 with ubuntu. But, if u remember from like a year ago when I had those graphics problems, what I did was that I just installed another motherboard that had a working gpu. However, this motherboard had a messed up bios where all the bios shortcuts were gone and almost all the settings in the bios setup were gone. The first time I installed my motherboard it said something about my cmos, does that affect my bios settings or just does it keep time.

I cant choose my boot device/boot order. What I do now for installing an os is to take out my hdd and put it in my other laptop and install it from there . Is there a fix/work around???
__________________

__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 10:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Cant Change Boot Device/Order On Laptop

CMOS = BIOS settings.

Can you reset to default BIOS settings? What about flashing a new/updated BIOS if one is available?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 12:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Default Re: Cant Change Boot Device/Order On Laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
What about flashing a new/updated BIOS if one is available?
I found the bios update but for some reason it says that I have the wrong mobo even though I know I have the right one! Can I just replace the cmos?
__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 12:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Cant Change Boot Device/Order On Laptop

Chances are the cmos chip is soldered on the board, but there's a chance that it might be removable. If it is, there's places where you can just get a new cmos chip
Badflash Bad Flash

First you should confirm the model and revision number of your board to see if you are getting the right file when you attempt to flash the bios. You stated that you replaced the board so the model/serial number on the laptop ID tag might not be for that board, or there is a different revision of the board from the original board
__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 12:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Default Re: Cant Change Boot Device/Order On Laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
Chances are the cmos chip is soldered on the board, but there's a chance that it might be removable. If it is, there's places where you can just get a new cmos chip
Badflash Bad Flash

First you should confirm the model and revision number of your board to see if you are getting the right file when you attempt to flash the bios. You stated that you replaced the board so the model/serial number on the laptop ID tag might not be for that board, or there is a different revision of the board from the original board
Both boards are the same model, tecra m9 PTM91E. the cmos is replaceable. I tried flashing the bios on my old board but same error.
__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Cant Change Boot Device/Order On Laptop

Quote:
Both boards are the same model, tecra m9 PTM91E
That's the part number printed/sticker'd on the motherboard itself? usually behind the memory modules on the inside....not the ID tag on the back side of the laptop
__________________

__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change drive order in XP...is it possible? CalcProgrammer1 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-08-2007 06:14 PM
change order of boot question R1C0CH3T New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-14-2006 07:38 PM
Change the order in which drive letters are assigned (Windows XP) VibrantLife Microsoft Windows and Software 5 10-18-2004 11:04 AM
reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device... douchebar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 07-06-2004 05:23 AM
master device cant boot bootable disks piggysmile Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 06-24-2004 05:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.