Can't access bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2013, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Default Can't access bios

I have a Toshiba Satellite C855D laptop with Windows 8. I'm trying to access the system BIOS so that I can take off the splash screen and to view the POST upon powering up my computer. I can't seem to figure out which function key to tap and I can't find any answers on Google. Help?
__________________

chipcreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Can't access bios

try this:
Shut down the pc.
Hold down the F2 key and while your holding it down, push the power button to boot up the pc
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 07:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Default Re: Can't access bios

I tried that but it didn't work. It did stay on the splash screen, however, until I let go of the f2 key.
chipcreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: wales
Posts: 31
Default Re: Can't access bios

try esc when powered up or del
brayo1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Default Re: Can't access bios

Tried both of those, as well. Didn't work. Here's something interesting I found on Toshiba's website, though.

NOTE: On Windows 8 operating systems that came preinstalled on the laptop from the factory, the BIOS has been replaced by UEFI (Unified Extensible Firmware Interface).

Weird...
chipcreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 04:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: wales
Posts: 31
Default Re: Can't access bios

yes that's the laptop firmware you can change this sitting when in the bios?? try using a usb key board and retry press f2 f8 esc ect? hope it works
brayo1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 04:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: wales
Posts: 31
Default Re: Can't access bios

if still don't work you may wanna try resetting the bios by removing the cosmos battery remove battery before hand ? leave a few minutes and put it back in ok
brayo1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Default Re: Can't access bios

Thanks for the input. I don't know if I'll do all that seeing as its not urgent. Taking out the CMOS battery on my good PC seems risky. I don't have access to a USB keyboard at home but its not a big deal. I just wanted to see the POST and figure out how to access the BIOS. Its frustrating but not necessary.
chipcreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SCxnoxiousTechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Philippines
Posts: 156
Default Re: Can't access bios

Do a Power Cycle 1st . remove the battery . wait for about 1 minute. plug the power cable in w/out the battery , hold down the F2 turn on NB and keep holding down the F2 . if no go try a usb keyboard.
__________________
i5-3470// Deepcool Gammaxx 400//Asus P8B75-m//8GB (2x2GB Ripjaws X + 1x4GB Generic RAM card//Asus 24x DVD Writer//Gigabyte GTX 560 Windforce//2x500GB Seagate Barracuda at 7200 RPM//Raidmax Super Viper Black USB 3.0 + 3 Deep Xfan Blue LED Case Fans.
SCxnoxiousTechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 01:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Default Re: Can't access bios

Okay, so I accessed it. I had to do a weird search in Windows 8 (still getting used to it), but I can get there now. However, in the BIOS, I'm still not able to do what I want to do, which is get rid of the Toshiba logo when I start my laptop and show the POST setup. Any help here?
__________________

chipcreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.