Can u upgrade laptop ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2008, 09:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 119
Default Re: Can u upgrade laptop ?

So slap in 2x1gb or 2x2gb PC2-5300 ? Can I put in Faster Ram or that is enough ?
__________________

sumik is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 09:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Eric1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: Can u upgrade laptop ?

2x1GB giving you 2 GB. The 5300 should be fine.
__________________

__________________
"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64



Eric1 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 10:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 119
Default Re: Can u upgrade laptop ?

Could u reccomend 2x2gb from this website NCIX.com - Canada's Premier Computer Store - Great Technology, Service and Selection. ?
I'd rather go with 4gb and have more and not to worry, ram is cheap now
sumik is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 10:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Eric1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: Can u upgrade laptop ?

What operating system are you running? because if you are running XP or Vista 32 bit it will not recognize 4GB of memory and I am not sure your laptop will even support 4 GB memory.
__________________
"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64



Eric1 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 10:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 119
Default Re: Can u upgrade laptop ?

Right now I'm runnin Vista, might leave it or change it to Xp not sure yet, u saying 4gb is huge overkill ? As i remember correctly it might recognize 3gb only, which i'm fine with.
sumik is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 10:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Eric1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: Can u upgrade laptop ?

Really if your gaming 2GB is fine for now. However using Vista and gaming I think 3GB would be good to have for future gaming and things. But honestly you would be just fine on 2GB.
__________________
"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64



Eric1 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 10:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 119
Default Re: Can u upgrade laptop ?

Ok, thanks for your help, hope I can b of some assistance in the future
sumik is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 10:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Eric1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: Can u upgrade laptop ?

Thank you for letting me help you. I love helping others.
__________________
"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64



Eric1 is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 10:46 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Question Re: Can u upgrade laptop ?

Quick question, because I was thinking about upgrading the memory in my laptop from 2 GB to 4 GB but I have a dell and Iíve read that only certain laptops support the 4 GB. I'm trying to avoid the lag I get while playing my mmo. Is it worth it? Is there anything else I can do to help? I'm pretty sure I can't update my Video card. And if I were to update my memory (or even if I didn't) would applying heat sinks to the memory be an option to improve performance? Iíve noticed as my laptop heats upÖperformance goes down.
__________________

Sinyk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
laptop upgrade thoughts... krazyq Laptops and Notebooks 10 02-28-2008 11:28 AM
Laptop memory upgrade olejay13467 Laptops and Notebooks 5 02-04-2008 11:26 AM
Laptop hardware upgrade Simple question Hamuth Laptops and Notebooks 3 11-11-2007 12:47 PM
what can i upgrade on my laptop Makaveli Laptops and Notebooks 1 08-08-2007 07:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.