Can my Lenovo G700 upgrade to HDMI 2.0? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2014, 07:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
og5
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 98
Default Can my Lenovo G700 upgrade to HDMI 2.0?

My Lenovo G700 has an i7-3612QM quad core processor and Intel HD 4000 graphics card. But seeing as I bought it as a refurb on March of this year, it's probably not HDMI 2.0 (though there's the possibility).

1) How can I check to be sure?

2) If it's HDMI 1.4 or lower, is there a way to upgrade to HDMI 2?
__________________

og5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 07:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,079
Default Re: Can my Lenovo G700 upgrade to HDMI 2.0?

An integrated graphics chip means that you can not change the hdmi on it
Quote:
3612QM: An Ivy Bridge-based quad-core processor clocked at 2.1 GHz with Turbo Boost support up to 3.1 GHz. Offers an integrated HD Graphics 4000 GPU running at 650-1100 MHz on a dual channel DDR3 memory controller.
Lenovo G700-59377109 - Notebookcheck.net External Reviews

If you go to the support area of the Lenovo web site and enter the complete model number, you might find the specs to see if it has hdmi 1.4 or 2
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 07:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
og5
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 98
Default Re: Can my Lenovo G700 upgrade to HDMI 2.0?

Thanks, any idea how I can find the HDMI version? I've scoured the web for the model number of my computer but have been unable to find it.

I'm sure this is unlikely but I'll ask: Is there a possibility to add displayport 1.2?
og5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 08:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 114
Default Re: Can my Lenovo G700 upgrade to HDMI 2.0?

It is not possible to add display port either. However you can adapt HDMI to Display port. I't might be helpful if you outline what your desired goal is. Then we can try to see if we can figure out a work around. I assume you are hoping to hook a specific item to your computer...
the1truegamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 08:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
og5
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 98
Default Re: Can my Lenovo G700 upgrade to HDMI 2.0?

Yes I'm trying to get a 4k display at 60 hz, which needs HDMI 2 or displayport. Perhaps I could get there with an external USB video card that bypasses the integrated video?
og5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 11:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 114
Default Re: Can my Lenovo G700 upgrade to HDMI 2.0?

Are you talking about gaming? What are you planning to use it for?
the1truegamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 04:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Can my Lenovo G700 upgrade to HDMI 2.0?

HDMI 2 is newer than your laptop, so no way of getting it on there.

A USB display device is possible, but not for gaming.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 04:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
og5
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 98
Default Re: Can my Lenovo G700 upgrade to HDMI 2.0?

No, business use only. I thought about going with 30 Hz but after seeing what 30 Hz looks like in person, it's unacceptable especially given the amount of time I'm in front of my computer.
og5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 05:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Can my Lenovo G700 upgrade to HDMI 2.0?

So far I'm not seeing anything that even remotely supports 4k because USB2 bandwidth isn't high enough. You've got 2 options that I can see so far. Deal with 30hz, or wait for Gigabyte to finalize and release their GPU in a box solution for laptops. The only other obvious answer being buy a new laptop. 4k is too new right now so you won't find very much support for it right off the bat.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lenovo Y580 upgrade HDD to Vertex 4 ewatzz System Upgrades 2 09-25-2012 12:54 AM
Can't use keyboard and trackpad at the same time, LENOVO blueboy112 Laptops and Notebooks 5 08-22-2011 05:51 PM
vga to rca or hdmi to rca? can it be done? jeepster731 Laptops and Notebooks 4 03-10-2011 08:48 AM
Sceptre X246W Hdmi to Hdmi PROBLEM! Drugger Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-01-2010 03:00 AM
Playing in HDMI with no HDMI Plug-in dave39 Microsoft XBox 7 02-11-2008 07:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.