Can I upgrade my processor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2010, 04:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Default Can I upgrade my processor?

I have a Toshiba Satellite L455-S5000; it suits me just fine. I just want to upgrade the processor which is currently an Intel Celeron 900 2.2Ghz. Will I be able to do this? Also, I'd really appreciate it if someone could give me a list of processors to upgrade to. Thanks in advance.
__________________

Jack1991 is offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 08:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

Sorry, you can't upgrade laptop CPUs, unless you get into heavy modding.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 09:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

Don't bother with it. On laptops, the CPUs you could ever upgrade are only a little performance over your current CPU. Plus, your battery and PSU has to be able to take that extra load.

If you are noticing any slowness, upgrade your RAM.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 05:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: TheUS
Posts: 9
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

Just like Yami said. To add on, if you do actually go into it deeply and try to upgrade it, your computer may not run as well as it originally was. Other wise, you can try to get someone to do it for you, like a Geek Squad or something, but if I were you, that would cost as much as just getting a new computer or laptop. Good luck though.
09Challenger is offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 07:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

Geek Squad? LOL I wish! Stay local if you need it done by someone else.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 09:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: TheUS
Posts: 9
Default Re: Can I upgrade my processor?

Hmm, I live close to BestBuy which has a Geek Squad...
__________________

09Challenger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Socket AM2 motherboard...lookin to upgrade single core to dual core processor BradS System Upgrades 2 01-09-2010 08:50 AM
Microsoft Sets Windows 7 Pricing, Upgrade Programs Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 58 07-10-2009 11:04 AM
trying to upgrade old system zeldaboy101 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-09-2008 01:39 AM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.