Buying a Vista Laptop - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2008, 10:04 PM   #21 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetCablesPlus View Post
I would like to upgrade my .5G laptop running Vista (it's an Acer.) Any idea on what a ballpark cost would be to do this?
Memory upgrades, flash media, and usb storage at Crucial.com

That site will scan your PC for you and tell you how much RAM you have, how much yoru mobo can hold and what type you need. After that jsut take what they say and go shoping for a better price.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 03:25 AM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

This thread scared me since i just bought a laptop and i might dual boot with xp. But i am giving Vista a try first. Lucky Lenovo still has all the xp drivers for this ideapad.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 01:36 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

Thank you for all the responses. I will deff give Vista a shot like everyone said, and I plan on checking out the stores today to see if I can get a copy of WinXP Pro. I was just doing some browsing and found a HP Laptop on Best Buy's site.. HP - Pavilion Laptop with AMD Turionô X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor TL-60. I checked out the HP Website for Support and Drivers and they do still indeed have XP Drivers for it. Im wondering if these drivers will disappear by the time Christmas comes around or will they stay on there for awhile? I only seen a couple of drivers on there for Network and a security update. How come there is no Audio or Video adapters on there or do those just automatically install when I install XP Pro? The drivers are located here: Software & Driver downloads*HP Pavilion dv6915nr Notebook PC

Let me know if those will still be around by the time Christmas swings by or do you think I should save them for reference?
HP Pavilion dv6915nr Notebook PC


Thank You!
__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 04:32 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to NetCablesPlus Send a message via Yahoo to NetCablesPlus
Default Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Memory upgrades, flash media, and usb storage at Crucial.com

That site will scan your PC for you and tell you how much RAM you have, how much yoru mobo can hold and what type you need. After that jsut take what they say and go shoping for a better price.

Cheers,
Mak
Wow, that is really cool. I will definitely use the link when I get back home (where my daughter's laptop is). Thanks much!
__________________

NetCablesPlus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista SP1 Download Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 42 03-22-2008 04:23 AM
Can a laptop with WLAN using Vista be made a access point like a router? oxfile84 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 09-25-2007 11:00 AM
Network questions Vista laptop Shane12m Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-14-2007 03:04 PM
Windows Vista Laptop Tankhead02 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-05-2007 10:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.