Buying a Vista Laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2008, 06:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Exclamation Buying a Vista Laptop

Hello. I will be purchasing a laptop around Christmas time for college next year. I am thinking about buying a HP laptop and I know most of them in the store if not all are Vista. Well I was wondering if I can buy the laptop, un-install Vista and then Install Xp Pro since I have a disc here. I talked to a guy from the college im going too and he said they would prefer XP over Vista. Im wondering if this can be done or are they strictly made for Vista?

Let me know.


Thanks!
__________________

__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

Yes it can be done. You will have to download all of the drivers for your laptop (XP drivers not vista ones which it will come with), so if you are able to do that from HP website then no problems.
__________________

[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

Hello,

Yes it can be done but Tommy Boy is a bit off. Since July 1, 2008 OEM sales of XP have stopped and therefor the manufacturers are no longer offering XP Drivers up for download since they are Vista only sales.

So you will not find XP Drivers via the manufacturer's website anymore. You will have to dins alternative methods to get the drivers. If you are lucky the manufacturer will still offer XP drivers. But do NOT count on it.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 09:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

Hence why I said if you are able to do that then you will have no problems. But yer if you can't get the drivers like Mak said then its not possible
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

Tommy,

Sorry i was not trying to be mean. Just clarify the situation. As another member recently asked this and got upset when i gave the same answer.

But there is a way.

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/how...stable-156582/

Post 3 and beyond. That talks of how you can go to a site and get drivers needed. That might work as well. I also wouldnt place my hope on that as well.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 10:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

lol no problems Mak
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 11:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

What model of HP laptop are you looking at. HP is pretty good about keeping a good list of drivers, and I saw both the XP and Vista drivers for my new dv9000 series laptop on their site. I'm perfectly happy with Vista on my laptop. I figured I would dual-boot Vista and XP, but everything seemed to work in Vista so I had no reason to install XP (though I do have 40GB unpartitioned just in case I decide to install it). I would NOT recommend deleting Vista altogether, I would dual-boot, that way you can have the advantages of both OS'es.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 02:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

I doubt it if the hardware will change that much in the next six months. Windows XP SP3 along with Windows update should take care of most of the drivers. For any other drivers for the most part can obtained from previous HP models with the same hardware.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 02:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Exclamation Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

Wow. Thank you for all the quick responses. My mom and I already agreed that I would be getting a laptop for christmas, so within the 4 months I will have one. Do you think that will still be enough time to still have Windows Xp? So is what I will have to do is purchase a laptop and then have to uninstall vista and then install win xp pro and then download the drivers for it, correct? Also, will Best Buy actually give me a Vista disc or what? I heard some people say that they will give you a reinstall disc, but not the actual disc? Do I have to ask them before purchasing the laptop if I can get the vista disc, or will they make me buy a retail copy of it?

Let me know please.

Thanks!
__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 03:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Buying a Vista Laptop

You would have to make your own recovery discs, from within Vista itself. Best Buy would probably just take your laptop, make the recovery discs, and charge you $100 for something you could have made with 2 $1.50 DVD's.

I say, why not try Vista out? Uninstall the crapware they put on the machine, and then give it a try. You might be surprised at how well vista actually is, if you don't go into it with pre-conceived notions that its a failure. Ask many people on this forum that run Vista, and they'll tell you that it runs great (Mak is a perfect example; 3GB (or is it 2GB?) of RAM, and a single-core Pentium 4, and it runs smooth on his machine).

Just putting in my 2 cents worth.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista SP1 Download Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 42 03-22-2008 04:23 AM
Can a laptop with WLAN using Vista be made a access point like a router? oxfile84 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 09-25-2007 11:00 AM
Network questions Vista laptop Shane12m Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-14-2007 03:04 PM
Windows Vista Laptop Tankhead02 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-05-2007 10:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.