Broken Motherboard Componet (Dell Insp. 9300)? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2007, 01:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Broken Motherboard Componet (Dell Insp. 9300)?

The other day i was in an intense Swat4 battle and i was shouting out commands via the space key, although i didn't know that every time i hit it, it was knocking against a component on the mobo. I am not sure exactly what it is, but i can do my best to describe it. It "was" a tiny little rectangle that appeared to be orange. Beside where it was once mounted is the PC29. If you know what it is, could you also tell me how to fix it for cheap, since it is not under warranty anymore.

Here are two pictures.
http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j2...w/100_1198.jpg

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j2...w/100_1196.jpg



Thanks
__________________

ferrellw is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 01:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Broken Motherboard Componet (Dell Insp. 9300)?

Thats a resistor. You need a new motherboard, as resoldering it is hard for new people.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 01:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Broken Motherboard Componet (Dell Insp. 9300)?

I am proficient enough to solider it back, but i've decided to just buy a new mobo because i have a broken audio port too. One more question though. How, and where do i look for my motherboards S/N.
ferrellw is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 03:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: Broken Motherboard Componet (Dell Insp. 9300)?

u dont need the exact board .. just buy 1 that fits ur ram and cpu
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Broken Motherboard Componet (Dell Insp. 9300)?

You do actually need the same board, unless you plan to do some heavy moding (which I have done, it's not worth it). The problem with dell is, when you start to take components off the old mobo you will notice pins broken, ram installed improperly, etc... At least this is what happened to me... twice.
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 10:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Broken Motherboard Componet (Dell Insp. 9300)?

That sounds about right. You will need the same model of mobo since it's a laptop. There should be a small thin white sticker (possibly with a scannable barcode) It usually gives you a serial number (S/N) and a Dell Part Number (D P/N). This is also something you can probably google easily enough. I'll check out a site or two for ya and post in a few minutes.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 11:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Broken Motherboard Componet (Dell Insp. 9300)?

Looks like you've got two possibilities. Not sure what the difference is between the two boards but you should be able to check google and ebay for more pics and inof, and possibly the Dell support forum for laptops. Here's a parts list for your notebook (looks like you've got upgradeable graphics, too. Lucky!):
Dell Inspiron 9300 parts

and the two mobos:
Dell Inspiron 9300 Motherboard (System Board) - Y4694
Dell Inspiron 9300 Motherboard (System Board) - DC767

Don't buy any parts from this site, it's incredibly expensive. Best to search ebay or something else. I only use it for getting info and part numbers.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 12:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Broken Motherboard Componet (Dell Insp. 9300)?

Thanks guys, this helps alot.
ferrellw is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 08:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default Re: Broken Motherboard Componet (Dell Insp. 9300)?

$600 for a laptop motherboard . HA
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 11:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Broken Motherboard Componet (Dell Insp. 9300)?

That's why I said not to buy from the site, just use the part numbers for reference. They keep a good inventory but everything is spendy.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A newbie need help: upgrading from ancient dell PuluPulu New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-11-2007 10:45 AM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.