Bought a New Sony Vaio FW - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2008, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Exclamation Bought a New Sony Vaio FW

Alright, lets get some feedback from some of the hardcore techies out there. I'm definitely an above average computer user. I'm always working in Adobe Flash and Adobe Photoshop making animations and website designs. I'm also big on coding and managing websites. There's always time for some gaming too, nothing major, (Warrock, if you must know).

So how good (or bad) did I do? I focussed on performance and I wanted a laptop that would run awesome no matter what I throw at it.


Sony Vaio FW (Custom-To-Order) ($1400 after coupons)

* Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
* Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T9400 (2.53GHz)
* 3 GB DDR2 Ram (Might upgrade to 4)
* ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3650 with 512MB vRAM
* LCD 16.4" (XBRITE-FullHD)
* Titanium Gray Color

Think I should upgrade to 4GB ram? is it going to make a noticeable difference?

Input welcomed
__________________

Ralph23 is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 08:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Bought a New Sony Vaio FW

Looks good, if battery life isn't an issue might as well go with 17'' if it is available. 4 gig of RAM would also help in a 64 bit environment and multi tasking with adobe products.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 09:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Bought a New Sony Vaio FW

Thanks. I'm probably gonna pick up a 2GB stick of ram when I'm out at BestBuy soon.

The FW series is unique in that it is the only laptop with a 16.4" screen. Extra wide, great for movies too. Hope I'll like it.
Ralph23 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 12:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Bought a New Sony Vaio FW

Double check to ensure you can add 3 gig. Sometimes system boards only allow a certain maximum amount.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 11:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Bought a New Sony Vaio FW

Hehe I bjust got me an Aspire with an 18.4" 1080p screen... SOOOOOOOO huge!

4gigs and a 9600m gt
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.