Bizzare CPU Speed question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2008, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default Bizzare CPU Speed question

Hey all. I currently have this laptop:

HP Pavilion dv6406nr Notebook PC*-* Product Specifications*

The processor is a 1.7Ghz AMD Dual core, and in BIOS it says that. It also says 1.7Ghz when I go into my computer properties.

Anyway, I've been OCing my PC a lot recently so I just kind of got curious and put CPU-z on my laptop.. and am confused at what I see.

CPU-z says it is running 200x4fsb 800Mhz. Has anyone seen anything like this? Why would CPU-z show a different CPU speed than my BIOS/computer properties?

I barely use my laptop.. but was just curious at this strange inconsistency.

Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 10:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Bizzare CPU Speed question

it is entirely normal, it is called throttling. the cpu lowers it's clock frequency to conserve power and reduce heat output, both of which are very important in laptops.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 10:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default Re: Bizzare CPU Speed question

well thats the thing. I originally figured it was the same as the default thing on my desktop where it lowers the multiplier while not using the CPU to save power. I ran prime95 on it though just to get the cores up at 100% and it was still saying 800Mhz. Just weird is all
__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 11:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Bizzare CPU Speed question

i can probably explain that too. it's an AMD cpu, i have noticed that they do not seem to throttle upwards for processes that are running at "idle". prime95 by default only uses idle cycles if i remember correctly. if you can find something else that is a reasonably demanding it will probably throttle upward. alternatively try testing it by pressing ctrl+alt+del, going to the processes tab, right clicking on the prime95 process and setting it's priority to normal (or higher).
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 11:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Bizzare CPU Speed question

if you run a game or start up a couple apps at the same time then it will raise it up.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 09:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Bizzare CPU Speed question

The 800MHz you see has nothing to do with your processor clock speed.

Notice that it said "200x4 fsb"? Your Front-Side-Bus speed is 800MHz (the highest in mainstream laptops right now). The clock speed of your laptop's motherboard, no matter how hard you clock it, will always be 800. Your processor, on the other hand, will fluctuate clock speed of both its cores based on how much voltage you supply it via the utility you spoke of.

Hope this helps. Let me know if you have any other questions.
mikeyharm is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 08:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Bizzare CPU Speed question

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyharm View Post
The 800MHz you see has nothing to do with your processor clock speed.

Notice that it said "200x4 fsb"? Your Front-Side-Bus speed is 800MHz (the highest in mainstream laptops right now). The clock speed of your laptop's motherboard, no matter how hard you clock it, will always be 800. Your processor, on the other hand, will fluctuate clock speed of both its cores based on how much voltage you supply it via the utility you spoke of.

Hope this helps. Let me know if you have any other questions.
the 200x4 is the clock speed. so when its 200x4 its running at 800mhz, when the laptop needs more processing power it bumps up the multiplier to lets say 200x8 which gives it 1.6ghz in processing power.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is a 1:1 overclock? aetherh4cker Overclocking and Modding 22 01-17-2008 04:02 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Ram timings vs Cpu clock speed neilnpatel Overclocking and Modding 4 10-29-2007 04:47 AM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM
What is the difference between CPU speed and Clock speed? fcui21 System Upgrades 2 09-29-2007 01:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.