A Bit of Help w/ my Graphics - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2014, 01:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States of America
Posts: 64
Question A Bit of Help w/ my Graphics

So I got my first laptop a couple years ago, a Toshiba Satellite Axxx-xxx (Forgot the exact model number). It came with Windows Vista (yuck), and about 5 viruses. I ended up wiping the drive and putting Linux Lite on the machine. Works great now. However, I was wondering if I could upgrade, swap out, or even overclock my GPU. I ran the
Code:
lspci
command in the LX Terminal, with this being the output:
Code:
devonc@myLaptop:~$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RS690 Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RS690 PCI to PCI Bridge (Internal gfx)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 7914
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RS690 PCI to PCI Bridge (PCI Express Port 1)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RS690 PCI to PCI Bridge (PCI Express Port 2)
00:12.0 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB600 Non-Raid-5 SATA
00:13.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB600 USB (OHCI0)
00:13.1 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB600 USB (OHCI1)
00:13.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB600 USB (OHCI2)
00:13.3 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB600 USB (OHCI3)
00:13.4 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB600 USB (OHCI4)
00:13.5 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB600 USB Controller (EHCI)
00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 14)
00:14.1 IDE interface: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB600 IDE
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB600 PCI to LPC Bridge
00:14.4 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RS690M [Radeon Xpress 1200/1250/1270]
08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 01)
14:06.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 05)
14:06.1 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 22)
14:06.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 12)
14:06.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev 12)

Anyways, I was just wondering if you guys could help me out. Much appreciated!


-EDIT- P.S., I apologize if I posted this in the wrong section of the forums. This is my first day on the forums. I also apologize if I formatted the post incorrectly. I got kicked off of AskUbuntu.com for formatting a couple posts incorrectly. .-.
__________________

battleof3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 02:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 235
Default Re: A Bit of Help w/ my Graphics

It is generally accepted that upgrading laptops is not possible. If you wanted more memory or storage you could probably do something, but when it comes to CPU or GPU laptops aren't designed to be upgraded. You may be able to overclock, but not usually on a standard laptop.

I would say your best bet if you want more power is getting something new.
__________________

bpm55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 02:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: A Bit of Help w/ my Graphics

The only way you can OC your GPU is if it's a dedicated GPU, and not an integrated GPU (integrated onto the board, or as an APU with the CPU).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 11:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States of America
Posts: 64
Cool Re: A Bit of Help w/ my Graphics

'Aight. I thought so. Just wondering if there was a way to do such. Thanks for the time, guys! And I am probably getting a Lenovo IdeaPad y410p this coming August, so I'll be better off by FAR by then.
battleof3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gpu, gpu upgrade, help please, toshiba laptop

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is Bit? (As in Windows 32 Bit or 64 Bit)? ag3 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-24-2004 06:36 AM
ATI Radeon 9600SE 64-bit vs. 128-bit pc_boy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 03-11-2004 04:34 AM
64 bit or 32 Bit? aznmandhs Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 02-21-2004 08:55 PM
64 bit vs 32 bit kneecapper Microsoft Windows and Software 19 01-04-2004 11:08 PM
Laptop Bus Size - 16 bit or 32 bit bigdaddy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-30-2003 03:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.