Bios upadates from within windows? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2013, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
maddangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 260
Default Bios upadates from within windows?

hey TF

This is a Toshiba Portege R705 P/N is PT314U-017018

so its been a few years since i have updated a bios, and my girl wanted me to check out her laptop as it has been acting up for a while.

Turns out, she hasn't updated anything with windows/the toshiba tools since before windows 7 SP1 was released

so i have 2 questions:

1: is it safe to update the bios with this Toshiba tool? ive never done it that way, and the last time i updated the BIOS of a computer was like ~10 years ago. if i turn this into a brick im a dead man.

2: really, how likely is it to brick a computer doing this?

I would really like to do this, there are some pretty important updates, but if the chance of bricking this is too high, ill let her dad do it id rather not face the wrath.

Let me know if you guys need any more info

Edit: i do have permission to do this stuff, so it is known
__________________

__________________
"A man with a beard is a man who truly means business. The shirt and tie merely accentuate the sense of business provided by the beard" - Socrates
maddangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 01:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Bios upadates from within windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by maddangerous View Post
hey TF

This is a Toshiba Portege R705 P/N is PT314U-017018

so its been a few years since i have updated a bios, and my girl wanted me to check out her laptop as it has been acting up for a while.

Turns out, she hasn't updated anything with windows/the toshiba tools since before windows 7 SP1 was released

so i have 2 questions:

1: is it safe to update the bios with this Toshiba tool? ive never done it that way, and the last time i updated the BIOS of a computer was like ~10 years ago. if i turn this into a brick im a dead man.

2: really, how likely is it to brick a computer doing this?

I would really like to do this, there are some pretty important updates, but if the chance of bricking this is too high, ill let her dad do it id rather not face the wrath.

Let me know if you guys need any more info

Edit: i do have permission to do this stuff, so it is known
1. Most BIOS utilities for laptops are Windows-based nowadays. What they usually do is copy over the BIOS files to a hidden boot, system reboots, and then flashes the new BIOS.

2. There's still a chance to brick, but it's usually fairly low. Just disable AV if you can, make sure nothing else is running, and plug it into AC (most BIOS update utilities won't run unless you're plugged into AC anyway).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.