BIOS Does Not Recognize HD Size - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2009, 11:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: BIOS Does Not Recognize HD Size

So when you install the larger drives you are unable to install widows on them?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 01:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: BIOS Does Not Recognize HD Size

No, windows xp sp1 booted up fine after I formatted the new HD. I was able to add SP2 and SP 3 and any other updates Microsoft recommended. However, BIOS was only registering 6375MB as the HD size. I let it go, had no way of changing this figure. After using the new drive for a few months all of the sudden I got the black screen with disk error and ctrl-alt-delete to reboot. It would not reboot. I could press F2 to get into the bios but there was nothing there for me to change. Even going back to the windows reinstall disk I could not get it to boot. The HD is recognized in the BIOS but it does not do its thing once I escape BIOS. That's where things stand now.
__________________

kap427 is offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 08:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: BIOS Does Not Recognize HD Size

Here is some information on the 40 gb drive (currently running now in LT fine) and the 250 gb new drive I cannot get to boot:

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3574/...be13b540_o.png

What should I be looking for here?
kap427 is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 09:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: BIOS Does Not Recognize HD Size

Do you really have the D: drive 25% full? Or is that erroneous information?
SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 11:18 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: BIOS Does Not Recognize HD Size

It's accurate -- lots of digital pix copied over from C:\ drive
kap427 is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 11:22 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: BIOS Does Not Recognize HD Size

It looks fine - honestly. So windows on some level can identify the full volume of the HDD - that means that the problem comes from the hardware level. Your mobo is just too old.
SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 01:09 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: BIOS Does Not Recognize HD Size

Yeah, well, ok, so the MB is "old." But the REAL question I am interested in is:

"How do I get the HD to BOOT?"

I am less concerned about size of the drive being recognized.

Is there a way I can repair or reload the boot sector without destroying data?

Any recommendations?
kap427 is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 01:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: BIOS Does Not Recognize HD Size

If you must try, reformat the big HDD into a much smaller partition, make it about 40 GB and load windows onto that. If that works, then partition the rest in 40 GB chunks ... that might work.

Still, if windows can identify the whole thing, then at least part of it is working. Perhaps the BIOS runs out of "room" to look for boot disk but it can actually handle a larger disk (in theory) - buffer overflow.

Btw, that's what we like to call a WAG - Wild Ace Guess.
__________________

SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIOs wont let me Overclock, no options.. TekBubs Overclocking and Modding 14 02-06-2009 10:58 PM
BIOS doesn't recognize HDD as boot drive LouieD0g Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 12-02-2008 09:17 PM
BIOS Doesn't Recognize New AND Old Drives mark4man Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-30-2007 09:53 AM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
Another Hijack Log boo HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 06-26-2007 12:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.