BIG problem with my Toshiba Satellite A215 S4757. Help Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

themarsvolta55

Beta member
Hey guys and gals,
So I've had my Toshiba Satellite for a couple years now, and I have loved it. After un-installing Vista and putting on XP sp3 on it, I really have had no problems. I have had some nasty viruses, but I've fixed it with either system restore, or Killbox ect. I currently have Desktop Maestro on my Satellite and I love it, has awesome tools like registry scan, system optimization, and keeps my boot times rather fast!
I still have the stock 2 gigs of DDR2 ram, and the 1.8GHz Turion64 X2, video card Radeon X1200 integrated, exc exc.

I dont use my computer for gaming or anything like that, just normal usage. my hard drive (250GB) was about 75% filled with my music, and photos( I am a photographer on the side ) and i will be d4mned if i loose all of it, i will be p1ssing blood

okay, well here is the problem, finally!

I was doing the usual, surfing the web and chatting with people online before going to bed, and I always put my laptop on "sleep" mode when i leave for a while, or go to sleep. I don't turn it off that much, except if i leave for the weekend.

I wake up this morning, flip the open the lid, and its totally greyish white. So I'm like "double you tee eff" and restart it. Once I restart it, 2 seconds later there are colorful vertical lines (and no, i am not on drugs ) then i start to freak out, then restart it again. same thing, different colored lines in different spots. I try it again, and NOTHING happens. alittle "boot" noise with my cd-rom drive, but then, nothing. I cant even get into BIOS

Not a virus. motherboard? video card? i leave that to you smarter people. IF my computer is totally done for, is there any way i can take the hard drive out to transfer the data to another computer for safe keeping?

Thanks a ton
Jordan