BF2 And Alienware? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2010, 01:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2
Exclamation BF2 And Alienware?

Alright, I have an Alienware M15x laptop:
Intel Core i7 720 1.7GHz Stealth and 2.7GHz Turbo
4GB DDR3 RAM @ 1600
NVIDIA GTX 260M
Win7

I was wondering if it would play Battlefield 2, or is the game is too old for it? I've always loved that game, and I want to play it again. I've tried the demo, and it seemed to work, but then stopped for no reason - I think it was an error on my part, though.

Would it be a waste to buy the game, or do I need to do some tweaking on the settings to make it run?

Thanks.
__________________

Rivethead is offline  
Old 05-27-2010, 10:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: BF2 And Alienware?

You need to mess with the settings in BF2 to make it work for you. Laptops have a problem with heat. If it doesn't work on full, take it down bit by bit until it is stable. Might want to run HWMonitor as well, see how hot your GPU gets.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 12:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: BF2 And Alienware?

That laptop should be able to max the crap out of bf2. How are you thinking he is going to have to lower settings?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 12:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: BF2 And Alienware?

Just a suggestion. It "should" work fine, but you never know if a heating problem exists.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 12:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: BF2 And Alienware?

It will eat BF2 alive. I played BF2 on a s938 3200+ with a 7800GTX way back when I put this rig together. You should be able to max everything and still get insane frame rates.

BF2 can be temperamental, though. be sure to search for the threads on here that dealt with the problems some had. Also, you may have to run BF2 in compatibility mode (I don't remember if I have to or not... been too long since I played it).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 02:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: BF2 And Alienware?

Heat should not be a problem unless you have broke fans/heatsinks inside.. As I could and did play BF2 on a Celron D and xfx 5200.
__________________

overlord20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My New Alienware ALX Rig... KNiGHTMaRe89 New Systems | Building and Buying 41 02-25-2008 10:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.