Asus G1SN-X1 upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2010, 06:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Asus G1SN-X1 upgrade

Hey Guys,

I have an Asus G1SN-X1 and am looking at upgrading the processor. I have the PM965 Chipset and bios version 202. I am looking at upgrading to either the T7700 or the T9300. I have contacted Asus and they wont give any information. I have also looked through countless forums and have varying answers on what I can do.

Thanks,

Adam
__________________

Cirrus_Pilot is offline  
Old 02-16-2010, 10:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Asus G1SN-X1 upgrade

Welcome to TF!

The reason why ASUS won't tell you this is because:

1. It will void your warranty. If you break it, they won't repair it.
2. You have to disassemble your whole laptop to get to the cpu.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-16-2010, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Asus G1SN-X1 upgrade

Well the warranty part im not worried about, because it has been gone for over a year, actually they designed a nice little cover on the bottom where the cpu sits. I know how to take it apart, not real hard, just trying to find the best processor. I am thinking of just biting the bullet and buying the T7700, sounds like everyone that has installed it in the laptop is happy and working.
Cirrus_Pilot is offline  
Old 02-16-2010, 06:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Asus G1SN-X1 upgrade

Oh, OK. Not all laptops have an easy access compartment on the bottom. I could have looked it up, but I was tired last night, didn't bother with it.

All you need to do is make VERY sure that the new CPU will work. I suppose you looked at ASUS support?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 10:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Asus G1SN-X1 upgrade

I have, if you look here, ASUSTeK Computer Inc., they show that the T9300 and the T7700 are compatible. I have talked to a couple more people that have put the T9300 in and are very happy. So I am actually going to buy the T9300 instead. All should work since I have the newest bios and everything.
Cirrus_Pilot is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 02:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Asus G1SN-X1 upgrade

OK, let us know if you can fly!
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-27-2010, 08:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Asus G1SN-X1 upgrade

Hey Guys,

So I have the T9300 installed and running on my ASUS G1SN-X1. I did not have to change anything, just installed and what do ya know, it works!! The problem I had with the 6X multiplier carried over to the T9300, the only way past it I have found is to use RMClock and disable the TM1 and TM2 sensors. Could this be caused by a RAM problem??

Thanks guys,

Adam
__________________

Cirrus_Pilot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can i install windows from a copied cd onto a licenced pc? raverx3m Microsoft Windows and Software 19 07-23-2009 03:08 PM
ASUS Motherboards World's First to Support Windows 7 RC Osiris New Technology and Products 0 05-05-2009 02:20 PM
HELP, emergency monitor upgrade, i repeat emergency monitor upgrade!! Joeyboy System Upgrades 5 09-02-2008 02:17 PM
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 02:21 AM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.