Amilo pi1505 display problems! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2010, 08:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default Amilo pi1505 display problems!

Hello!

I have a problem with my display on Fujitsu Siemens Amilo pi1505.



This photo isn't mine, I found it on some other board where someone had identical problems like I do. There wasn't any solution in that thread.

The problem you see on that photo appeared recently. Firstly I've updated and changed Intel chipset and graphic software and drivers. My laptop is running on Windows XP SP3. Nothing changed. Then I realized that if the display is the same in BIOS then it must be some kind of hardware error. I pluged in an external LCD monitor and it worked perfectly.

Before this error occured I had a display resolution of 1200 x 800 pixels but now I don't have this one between my display options.

Anyone have any idea what is wrong and how to fix this?
__________________

hudichk is offline  
Old 05-13-2010, 09:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Amilo pi1505 display problems!

The max resolution is 1280x800 for that laptop. It happens in BIOS. then there is a problem with your monitor or graphic card, that is integrated.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-13-2010, 10:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Amilo pi1505 display problems!

yes, you are correct. it was 1280 x 800. sorry, my mistake.

I doubt there is a problem with integrated graphic since it worked perfectly on external LCD monitor. Maybe some loose cable or something? Or maybe is something wrong with my laptop monitor.
hudichk is offline  
Old 05-13-2010, 10:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Amilo pi1505 display problems!

If you know how to open it up, I would think it is a loose cable problem.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-13-2010, 11:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Amilo pi1505 display problems!

I've already opened it. I've check the cable that goes from monitor to mainboard although I've been able to check it only at the place where it is connected to the motherboard. It was ok. Maybe I should replace this cable? Does anyone know how to do it?
hudichk is offline  
Old 05-13-2010, 01:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Amilo pi1505 display problems!

could be the wire to the monitor, too. But I am unsure how to fix that.

Edit: Did you try resetting BIOS to default?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-13-2010, 02:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Amilo pi1505 display problems!

thanks for your help mate. I did reset BIOS to default already, no luck


I'm thinking that replacing of this cable could solve the problem but I'm unsure how to do it since
I can't see where one end of the cable is attached. Don't want to use to much force coz I'm
not certain what I'm doing.
hudichk is offline  
Old 05-13-2010, 02:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Amilo pi1505 display problems!

Should be a way to open the cover of the screen. It would be on the back, I would think..
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-14-2010, 04:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: Amilo pi1505 display problems!

I'll give it a try but the problem is I don't have a replacement cable yet. I should order it and probably it will take some time. I wanted to be sure this is the problem before I make an order.
hudichk is offline  
Old 05-14-2010, 11:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Amilo pi1505 display problems!

I agree. You should investigate. Those wires only should be a few bucks at most.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.