Alienware m14x r1 question? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2014, 03:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: oh
Posts: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to Brookestar
Default Alienware m14x r1 question?

Hello i have a quick question about The Alien ware M14x R1. i was wondering if my computer mother bored could handle an i7 or whatever and where do you find laptop processor?
The processor on my alien ware is extremely old i guess. and maybe someone who experience i tech could tell me why i'm so laggy all suddenly like on WoW i could be able to play on Ultra/high on darkspear with no lag issue! now i can't barely make it throw lowest setting. i have to go somewhere with no one around me lol!

But my Processor is:

Intel(R) Core (TM) i5-2430m CPU @2.40GHz 2.40ghz
Ram: 4.00 gb
System: Windows 7 home premium 64-bit opration system.
*If u need anything else let me know* also is it possible i could upgrade my motherbored to an R2 or something?
__________________

Brookestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 03:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: oh
Posts: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to Brookestar
Default Re: Alienware m14x r1 question?

Does anyone know? or no?
__________________

Brookestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 09:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Alienware m14x r1 question?

That i5 isn't that old... It's a 2nd gen which is still fairly decent.

As for upgrading to an i7... that I'm not sure. I couldn't find much on google in terms of other people upgrading the CPU to an i7. Even if you did, mobile chips are much more expensive than their desktop counterparts, so you'd have to either shell out big bucks, or find a used one that would work with your system.

I did see a few things about upgrading to an R2 motherboard, but not much else was said other than some people were thinking it was possible. Whether it would actually fit or not, is another question entirely.

As for the lag in WoW... what are your temps while idle/load for your GPU/CPU? Have you tried updating your GPU drivers from nVidia or AMD (depending on what kind of GPU you have in the laptop)? Post your temps for idle/load and lets see what we're working with.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 09:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: oh
Posts: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to Brookestar
Default Re: Alienware m14x r1 question?

I really do appreciate it for you to tell me that carnageX and for your input!! i'ma check if i need update drivers and see if tat would work! i'll keep u posted but do you know if my mother bored could handle a i7?
Brookestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 12:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Alienware m14x r1 question?

I believe you can use the i7.

There is a complete Alienware forum, with sub sections for each laptop versions, over at Alienware Forums, Alienware Laptop Forum and Discussion
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 12:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Alienware m14x r1 question?

If it can handle an i7, would want to make sure you're on the latest BIOS revision as well, in case they added compatibility in a later revision or something.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 10:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Alienware m14x r1 question?

A bit of searching shows it came from dell with a 2830qm, so yup.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which laptop is better AlienWare M14x or Lenovo Y500 Core24 PC Gaming 1 06-09-2013 03:16 AM
Building an Alienware M14x theopfor New Systems | Building and Buying 23 08-22-2012 03:42 PM
New Alienware M11x question kkrohn Laptops and Notebooks 10 12-20-2011 10:10 PM
Upgrading a Alienware M14x Suggestions mikesx4911 Laptops and Notebooks 6 10-24-2011 05:43 PM
M14X not reading all ram modules Orion321 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-23-2011 06:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.