Alienware D900T - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2012, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northeastern KY
Posts: 5
Default Alienware D900T

I have a friend who has an Alienware D900T laptop that powers up but the screen don't work. Someone told him that his video card was bad. I told him that I'd ask around. Anybody here have any ideas?
__________________

ctvanover is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 12:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Alienware D900T

Doees he have a bad backlight? If you shine a flashlight on a 45* angle, can you see the desktop or anything?

Is it still under warranty?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 06:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northeastern KY
Posts: 5
Default Re: Alienware D900T

He wants to sell it to me for $50, he says it's about 3 to 4 years old, he thinks. I don't know, is that a good deal on it? I'd hate to pay that much for something that I'm afraid might cost more than what it's worth to fix.
ctvanover is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 06:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Alienware D900T

Try what i said above. Test it for a bad backlight.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 06:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northeastern KY
Posts: 5
Default Re: Alienware D900T

If it's a bad backlight, is it expensive to fix?
ctvanover is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 06:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Alienware D900T

Not at all, it's very straight forward. There are guides online about how to do this, especially for your specific model.

But test it before you buy it. If it's not the backlight, you could bee left with a dead laptop.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 03:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Alienware D900T

If you wanna test to see if its the videocard as well, just plug in an external monitor into the laptop, and see if it displays on that. If it does... then you're golden and it's just needing a replacement screen (usually around $100).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 08:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northeastern KY
Posts: 5
Default Re: Alienware D900T

He's gonna check it out as soon as he can but his daughter was having twins yesterday and I told to take his time. If it is a bad video card, is it hard to change or can it be changed?
ctvanover is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 04:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Alienware D900T

Depends. If it has a dedicated card in it, you would have to see if you could even find the same model of card that it has (usually can't put a different card in a laptop and expect it to even fit). If it's integrated... then it would be a whole new motherboard.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 07:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northeastern KY
Posts: 5
Default Re: Alienware D900T

My friend said that he shined a light on the screen and really could'nt see anything. So he took it over to a friends house and hooked it up to a monitor and still nothing. I was afraid to chance it so I turned him down. Thanks for all of the help and suggestion!
__________________

ctvanover is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
alienware model: D9T product code: D900T antanee52 Laptops and Notebooks 1 05-08-2009 10:33 PM
Alienware mastero66 System Upgrades 8 01-08-2006 02:27 PM
Alienware Amiko System Upgrades 9 09-05-2005 12:12 PM
My Alienware GonZo New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-28-2005 11:52 PM
Alienware PattyPCake Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 11-15-2004 07:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.