Adding SSD and keeping Hidden Partion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2012, 12:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Adding SSD and keeping Hidden Partion

I'm thinking of getting an SSD for my 8930G. What I want to do is put the C drive on the SSD, and keep the D and E (recovery) still on the regular drive.

The 8930 has 2 HD spots. But I can't find anything on how to do it.

Any help?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-15-2012, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Adding SSD and keeping Hidden Partion

Can't you do that with Clonezilla? Unless it doesn't do multiple partitions as one drive. Only thing I can think of.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-15-2012, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Adding SSD and keeping Hidden Partion

Its been awhile since I formatted my Laptop, but you do get the option of choosing where to put windows don't you? Like in a vanilla win install.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 01:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Adding SSD and keeping Hidden Partion

Yes you do, when you install windows you have the option to choose which drive you put it on and you can also partition drives accordingly however if you want to put the windows on a seperate drive eg: External Drive then the performance will be much slower! So it's not recommended to put windows on an external drive however if you want security of your windows why not encrypt the data with Truecrypt? This is their website: TrueCrypt - Free Open-Source On-The-Fly Disk Encryption Software for Windows 7/Vista/XP, Mac OS X and Linux it's a free download AND they have a max encryption level of 768 bits!!
luke127 is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 05:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 19
Default Re: Adding SSD and keeping Hidden Partion

I just did this. Actually it was the second time as I went from a Kingston 120 GB SSD to a OCZ 240 GB SSD. When I purchased the Kingston I got the Kit which included a case with a USB connector and a copy of Acronis True Image. Acronis is HD disk imaging software used to clone drives. It took about 45 minutes to clone the drive when I connected the new drive it worked flawlessly.
orlbuckeye is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 11:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Adding SSD and keeping Hidden Partion

My big thing is my laptop has 2 drive bays, so i am keeping the platter drive and the ssd. So I want to keep the recovery on the platter.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 10:04 PM
Adding an SSD beherenow71 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 02-17-2010 02:25 PM
Adding an SSD... yo1mcool Laptops and Notebooks 12 01-05-2010 09:00 PM
HDD partion help erabyss Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-18-2007 04:45 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.