Adding an SSD... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2010, 07:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Adding an SSD...

That doesn't change my instructions unless he only has one hard drive.

I thought he installed windows 7 on a different drive, and still has xp on another.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 12:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Adding an SSD...

Quote:
Originally Posted by yo1mcool View Post
Hmm, I don't know much about this whole process right now, still need to study and research it.

But how does it work out having an OS installed on 2 HD's at the same time like that? How does it know which to run off of?

How would I go about uninstalling an OS anyways?
If you boot to the SSD before the old mechanical (set the option in the BIOS) then you will be using the SSD OS. When you are in that OS you will see the mechanical drive as just another drive and the files and folder will be there, but not be "running" anything.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 09:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: Adding an SSD...

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
If you boot to the SSD before the old mechanical (set the option in the BIOS) then you will be using the SSD OS. When you are in that OS you will see the mechanical drive as just another drive and the files and folder will be there, but not be "running" anything.
Ahh ok, that sounds like a plan. =)

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Antec 300
LANPARTY DK X38-T2R
G.Skill DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Intel Core2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz
ATI Radeon HD 4850
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit English
Power & Cooling QB 750W +12V @ 60A
Western Digital Caviar SE16 640GB
yo1mcool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel SATA SSD Firmware Update Tool Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-02-2009 11:47 AM
SSD? Which one? NutterzUK New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-23-2009 09:49 PM
OCZ Vertex Series 120GB SSD Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 02-27-2009 02:44 PM
Computer Still acting screwy Shana2415 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 10 09-03-2008 11:36 AM
Fast SSD vs. Hard Disks Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 08-01-2008 04:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.