Acer 5310 Empowering Technology Bar - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2008, 10:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 53
Default Acer 5310 Empowering Technology Bar

Hi Guys,

Apologies if this has been discussed before.

i have an Acer 5310 laptop and when I start it up a green tool bar ( Acer Empowering Technology toolbar) also starts on my desktop, I has things like eNet Management, Volume, battery, resolution etc.

I wouldn't usually mind something like this but it really delays the amount of time my laptop takes to fully boot up. I've tried stopping this through start -> Run -> msconfig but perhaps i'm not clicking the right thing because it keeps coming back.

Has anyone any advice, maybe perhaps how they got rid of it. It's much appriciated.

thanks
__________________

mitzi is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Acer 5310 Empowering Technology Bar

Most programs that keep coming back are programs that are still running and will undo what you do in msconfig. It's best to use the programs startup option if it has one.
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 06:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Acer 5310 Empowering Technology Bar

Hmmm, No startup option that I can see. Every time I think I've done it, I restart and it appears again. Seem to have tried everything.

Anyone have any ideas?
mitzi is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Acer 5310 Empowering Technology Bar

I swear I used to know how to do this. So many customers hated its slow performance it just became a standard for us to disable it.... I don't think it was in msconfig either I believe there was a file or something that had to be deleted. lemme dig round a bit...

edit: Yes all I can find is that unless there's an option to disable each of the individual parts of the tool bar (try right clicking or something) you've got to go to the folder where the files for this app are kept and just delete everything. It's probably in Program Files but it's easy enough to do a search. Just one of the many weird things Acer does.....
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Acer 5310 Empowering Technology Bar

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsoft03 View Post
I swear I used to know how to do this. So many customers hated its slow performance it just became a standard for us to disable it.... I don't think it was in msconfig either I believe there was a file or something that had to be deleted. lemme dig round a bit...

edit: Yes all I can find is that unless there's an option to disable each of the individual parts of the tool bar (try right clicking or something) you've got to go to the folder where the files for this app are kept and just delete everything. It's probably in Program Files but it's easy enough to do a search. Just one of the many weird things Acer does.....
Hmmm yeah, poking around I think I saw the option to disable only some of the individual parts so I might just try getting rid of it altogether.

Just a quick question though, If I delete everything from the folder, I won't still look for it on startup each time will it?
mitzi is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 11:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Acer 5310 Empowering Technology Bar

My guess is it's a registry key that triggers the automatic start up. That's why disabling it via msconfig isn't a permanent fix. If you could figure out the registry key(s) for it you'd be best but I don't know them and I'm not so good at poking around registries, especially Vista's. You shouldn't see an error message or anything, though. Safest bet is to back everything up in a .zip or .rar archive so you can restore it easily if things go haywire. I'd recommend you do that.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 11:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Acer 5310 Empowering Technology Bar

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsoft03 View Post
My guess is it's a registry key that triggers the automatic start up. That's why disabling it via msconfig isn't a permanent fix. If you could figure out the registry key(s) for it you'd be best but I don't know them and I'm not so good at poking around registries, especially Vista's. You shouldn't see an error message or anything, though. Safest bet is to back everything up in a .zip or .rar archive so you can restore it easily if things go haywire. I'd recommend you do that.

Cool, I'll have a poke around and give it a go. If I come across any easy solution to it I'll post it. Thanks for the help!
mitzi is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 12:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Acer 5310 Empowering Technology Bar

I've been using this for years.

Mike Lin's Home Page
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 01:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Acer 5310 Empowering Technology Bar

Quote:
Originally Posted by KurrentEweser View Post
I've been using this for years.

Mike Lin's Home Page
How does that work? Does it just do the same as msconfig?
mitzi is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 01:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Acer 5310 Empowering Technology Bar

IT is more powerful than msconfig. This will fully disable the entries. along with their services. Not just the application itself when Windows starts.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disabling FireFox Awesome Bar Metal Chaos Internet Software and Browsers 1 06-18-2008 10:34 AM
Firefox 3 Location Bar Controversy Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 4 06-18-2008 05:57 AM
Intel Demonstrates First 32nm Chip and Next-Generation Nehalem Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 09-20-2007 01:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.