3GB-4GB RAM, difference? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2007, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
Default 3GB-4GB RAM, difference?

a long time ago i upgraded my pc from 512 gb to 1g and it was like a whole new computer. everything was so fast. so i'm wondering, as i'm building a laptop, is the jump from 3 to 4 huge? i'm planning on running vista and some games, so i guess 2gb would be the bare minimum. what do you guys think?
__________________

ton247 is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 3GB-4GB RAM, difference?

for xp i never notice a diffrence between anything over 2 gigs...

for vista you will most likely see a pretty big diffrence between 2gb and 4gb....

It's what your willing to spend, but 4 gb on vista would be ideal
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 01:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: 3GB-4GB RAM, difference?

If you get 4GB, you will want a 64-bit flavor of Vista, since 32-bit can't utilize all 4GB. I don't think you will notice a huge difference between 4GB and 2GB in Vista.

A lot of people boot Vista and are amazed that they have almost no free memory. See, whether you have 512MB or 4GB, Vista will try to use all of it no matter what in order to improve performance, since unused memory is wasted memory.

In my experience, 2GB seems to be perfect for Vista both performance-wise and economically.
__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 03:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: 3GB-4GB RAM, difference?

Vista doesn't use all of the memory its uses 30-35% for the pre loading of programs +5%for background processes. It is much more efficient usage then xp that just works on a highest priority basis and once finished it eats into virtual ram.

4gb is totally worthwhile in Vista and even if you don't have a 64bit version 3.5gb is second best....
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 08:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: 3GB-4GB RAM, difference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
Vista doesn't use all of the memory its uses 30-35% for the pre loading of programs +5%for background processes. It is much more efficient usage then xp that just works on a highest priority basis and once finished it eats into virtual ram.

4gb is totally worthwhile in Vista and even if you don't have a 64bit version 3.5gb is second best....
I hope your not just going by that little meter on the sidebar. That is the total system memory, paging file and RAM, the RAM is usualy totaly full, then it starts to use the page file somewhat, but it usualy depends on what your running. But 2GB is ideal for 32bit vista, 3gb would be the max for 32bit vista, 4gb for a 64bit version if your gaming and the such. But seriously, I have a laptop with 2gb with vista home basic, about to install buisness and it actualy works quite well, the only thing that slows me down what so ever is a slow hard drive.

Vista 32bit = min 1GB, good 2gb, best 3gb
Vista 64bit = min 2gb, good 3gb, best 4gb...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 05:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: 3GB-4GB RAM, difference?

The fact your using 32bit and 64bit doesn't change ram usage its just the amount that gets recognised.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 07:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 3GB-4GB RAM, difference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
The fact your using 32bit and 64bit doesn't change ram usage its just the amount that gets recognised.
for faster performance in 64bit then 32bit with multitasking or benchmarks i presume. I'm gonna stick with 32bit when i get Vista Ultimate for Christmas.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 08:38 PM   #8 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: 3GB-4GB RAM, difference?

I'm running 32bit vista with 4 gigs right now. A few of my drivers still aren't digitally signed so I have to wait a bit to upgrade. It runs just fine though.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3GB of RAM Jewels New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-04-2007 01:33 PM
Simple Question about 4gb RAM OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-02-2007 10:46 AM
4gb of ram david15549 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-25-2007 03:05 PM
XP Pro (32b) & 4GB Ram cliffhucker Microsoft Windows and Software 12 10-07-2007 10:10 PM
stupid guy wants 4GB of RAM... jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-27-2007 07:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.