32bit on a 64 bit os - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2008, 12:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Question 32bit on a 64 bit os

Hi all
I would like to know if you can run 32bit games on a 64bit os?

Thank you all,
Evolution1340
__________________

Evolution1340 is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 12:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 32bit on a 64 bit os

Yes... You can.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: 32bit on a 64 bit os

Most 32 bit programs work fine on a 64 bit OS. However, certain things like 32 bit drivers and low level apps don't work. You'll need 64 bit drivers for your hardware, but 32 bit games and other user level applications work just fine.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 10:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Teknoloji Haberleri
Posts: 1
Default Re: 32bit on a 64 bit os

64 bit technology usually using by servers
Teknoloji Haberleri is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 11:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: 32bit on a 64 bit os

64 Bit technology is not being used by just Servers. There are plenty of people on this site alone that use 64 Bit. Not to mention many other places. 64 Bit is now on desktops just as much if not more than servers since any Core 2 Duo can handle 64 Bit. Not to mention any Intel CPU since. Same goes for AMD CPU's as well.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 02:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: 32bit on a 64 bit os

Lol all new cpu since 2006 can handle 64 bit I think.

nintendo 64 all the way!

In my opinion 64 bit with games is horrible. not many compability
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 09:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 32bit on a 64 bit os

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ric0h View Post
Lol all new cpu since 2006 can handle 64 bit I think.

nintendo 64 all the way!

In my opinion 64 bit with games is horrible. not many compability
Older than that... the earliest known 64bit CPU was the Pentium 4 Prescott or the Athlon64 3200+

and everything you hear about incompatibility is pretty much crap.. Vista64 is refined and has little to know compatibility problems
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 02:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: 32bit on a 64 bit os

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Older than that... the earliest known 64bit CPU was the Pentium 4 Prescott or the Athlon64 3200+

and everything you hear about incompatibility is pretty much crap.. Vista64 is refined and has little to know compatibility problems
Except for drivers, some things don't have 64 bit drivers and it's impossible to use 32 bit ones, huge inconvenience. Software wise it's no different though.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 08:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: 32bit on a 64 bit os

Not all the CPU's released from that long ago are 64 Bit. I have a P4 Prescott that isnt 64 Bit.

I only said Core 2 Duo cause that is what people are buying now. Not what they used for several years now. I am talking about the present. CAuse this is when 64 Bit is taking off. Back when XP X64 was released it didnt take off and had very bad support. Still does. Vista 64 Bit on the other hand is just the oppostie. It has great support.

Before anyone wants to argue about me with my CPU. Since i do know what i am talking about.



There is my CPUz. No 64 Bit. It is a Prescott. So dont tell me i am wrong. Cause i show my proof.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 08:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 32bit on a 64 bit os

... wow.. You got me.. but there are Pentium 4's that are 64bit I know that I don't remember which though..
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Difference Between 32 Bit (x86) and 64 Bit (x64) KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 30 08-29-2009 09:05 AM
Opinions on 32bit vs 64 bit XP meat_helmet Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-07-2008 10:27 AM
Vista Ultimate 32bit or 64 bit krazyq New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-30-2007 08:35 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.