2.53 GHz Intel Core i3-380M or 3.0 GHz AMD Phenom II N660?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rawan AbuSalman

Daemon Poster
Hello guys,

I'm new to AMD processors, but came across 2 similarly priced laptops, one with a 2.53 GHz i3-380m, and one with a 3.0 GHz AMD Phenom II N660. Which processor would you guys say is faster and better?

Here are the 2 laptops; which one do you think is a better buy and would advise me to go for?

Amazon.com: Toshiba Satellite L645D-S4106 14.0-Inch Laptop - Grey: Computer & Accessories

Amazon.com: Toshiba Satellite M645-S4112 14.0-Inch LED Laptop (Black): Computer & Accessories

EDIT: The AMD one has more HD (640 GB vs 500 GB), and an ATI Radeon graphics card (which I would think is better than the intel graphics?), but the Intel one has harmon kardon speakers, and a 5h39 min battery (vs 3h30; which I think is one good point in favor of the Intel one). But still, knowing which processor is better might swing my choice one way or the other. But I may be wrong.

Would appreciate your input.

Thanks!!

The i3 one gets two hours extra battery life, so I'd go with that regardless of performance differences (there's is much of a difference, btw).

Thanks for your reply...

I went on to edit my initial post, and yes as i posted I think the 2 hours extra battery time is a good point in favor of the intel one. But I'm still curious about the processors...which is better..and by how much... (Also, same thing with the graphics card; i think the AMD one is better, but I'm no expert...?).

I just might go for the AMD one and sacrifice 2 hours of battery life if I'm gaining a significantly better processor, significantly better graphics card, and a larger HDD..

Yeah, I'd go with the i3, it saves battery life.

The two cards are well, matched, but the i3 is your better choice. Looking at a CPU benchmarks, the i3 is #53, the AMD is #72. Lower the better.

edit: d*** you, Yami!!

lol, Amazon fail:
Processor: 3 hertz Phenom Dual-Core