10 laptop - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2007, 05:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: 10 laptop

well you need 256mb to run windows xp so it wont run m8 might be lucky to get
ME on it, onlt be good for the internet if you get a usb wireless card if u have wireless router
__________________

__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 05:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 10 laptop

£10 laptop? Ofcourse you get it. I don't care how old it is, grab it and use it. If you can't, grab it and part it. £10 anything technological is a bargain.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: 10 laptop

Even if its broken you could still just dissasemble it and learn more about its insides- 10 buys nothing today really.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 10 laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay_bo View Post
well you need 256mb to run windows xp so it wont run m8 might be lucky to get
ME on it, onlt be good for the internet if you get a usb wireless card if u have wireless router
64mb for XP is absolute minumum, pcs at my school have that and they are jsut about useable
Nick is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: 10 laptop

i thought it was 256 to run xp n 512mb to run vista
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: 10 laptop

Quote:
Here's What You Need to Use Windows XP Professional
PC with 300 megahertz or higher processor clock speed recommended; 233 MHz minimum required (single or dual processor system);* Intel Pentium/Celeron family, or AMD K6/Athlon/Duron family, or compatible processor recommended

128 megabytes (MB) of RAM or higher recommended (64 MB minimum supported; may limit performance and some features)

1.5 gigabytes (GB) of available hard disk space*

Super VGA (800 x 600) or higher-resolution video adapter and monitor

CD-ROM or DVD drive

Keyboard and Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/p...n/sysreqs.mspx
Vaanish is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 07:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 10 laptop

hey thanks Vaanish
Nick is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 09:33 PM   #18 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: 10 laptop

you can run vista with 256 if you want to (ive seen it before not pretty)
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 11:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 10 laptop

go "obtain" ME or get 2k, or get some extra RAM...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 05:10 AM   #20 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 10 laptop

ME, blimey i used that for 5 years on our family pc, its dreadful, may be beacuase the system was a dell
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP PC networked with Vista laptop mnelson07 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 08-06-2007 06:57 AM
Help transfering harddrive contents on a non working laptop into the new laptop vickysmalls Laptops and Notebooks 5 07-25-2007 11:04 AM
Gaming Laptop...? Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 21 04-20-2007 02:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.