1.) overheating laptop & 2.) upgrade from 4gb to 8gb ram?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zas123

Solid State Member
1.) Right now I've got a HP dv5-1113us and I've had it for 2 years or more. The laptop still functions, only slowed down a little bit but I've been running it on 'low performance mode' since I have owned it because apparently there is an overheating problem with the laptop. I have bought a generic cooler and it seems to keep it just a little warmer than ambient temperature, but I was hoping there was a fan I could upgrade or perhaps some settings I could adjust either in the OS or in BIOS. I used to be a pretty novice geek but I've let myself go over the years.

If I put it on high performance or moderate mode, within the hour it will warm up and crash (completely black, blink for a while, turn back on once it has cooled down). If it runs to many programs like downloading big files over night, without a cooler it'll probably crash.

Another idea I was bouncing back and forth was slowing the settings and adding RAM. Or just adding RAM may be that extra boost I need?

2.) It currently has the stock 4gb of ram and I was wondering if it would even be worth it to upgrade it to 8gb of ram (found it for around $100 on amazon). Eventually I will need a computer that can handle solid works, auto-cad with no problem. I always keep it plugged in 99.9% of the time and even now when I unplug it I still get a solid hour of good battery.

Anyways, first time poster. Hopefully I can get back into messing with computers. Thanks for the advice ahead of time.

If you had it for 2 years, have you ever cleaned it out? Could be the reason you are overheating. Blast some canned air into the side vents.

Have you done a virus, malware check lately? That can slow down your computer as well. Might want to use CCleaner as well.