Zalman releases an air-cooler CPU cooler with water-cooling perforamce - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2005, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Zalman releases an air-cooler CPU cooler with water-cooling perforamce

Check out the pics:




Can we say "Awesome!"? I thought you could.

Here's Zalman's page on it:
http://www.zalman.co.kr/images/main/...9500_01eng.gif

Here's a couple of articles that touch on it:
http://www.anandtech.com/tradeshows/...spx?i=2434&p=8
http://www.tomshardware.com/business...x_day1-20.html

I don't think there are any benchie's on it yet. But here's the vitals for those who didn't check out Zalman's spiel:
Quote:
Dimensions ( L x W x H )..... 85 x 112 x 125mm
Heatsink Material..... Pure Copper Base, Fins, and Heatpipes
Weight..... 498g
Dissipation Area..... 3,268cm2
Fan Size..... 92 x 25mm
Fan Operating Voltage..... 5 ~ 12V
Rated Current..... 0.35A
Max. Power Consumption..... 4.2W
Bearing Type..... 2-Ball Bearing
Fan Speed..... 1,350 ~ 2,600 rpm ± 10%
Noise Level..... 18 ~ 27.5 dB ± 10%
Fan Speed Controller..... Fan Mate 2
I know I want one!
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 10:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

It looks nice! What is that big thing it is sitting on in the first picture? Does that have to go on the heatsink?
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 10:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

It is a mirror.

So, no, it doesn't come with it.

The thing the heat pipes are coming out of is the base of the heat sink.

This thing is huge, but it is like 250 grams lighter than the 7700Cu.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 10:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

one question: HOW MUCH?

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 10:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter


This thing is huge, but it is like 250 grams lighter than the 7700Cu.
Balance is alot worse
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 10:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

That's why you use big bolts and 1/2" washers...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 11:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
This thing is huge, but it is like 250 grams lighter than the 7700Cu. [/B]
Actually it's over 400g lighter. If my memory serves me correctly, the 7700 Cu is around 920g and the 7700 Alcu is around 600g.

If this thing outperforms both, at 500g, that's amazing. The recommended spec says that all heat sink units should be around 450g at the most.
Chankama is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 11:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

yea hoe much and which sockets will it support shoot i want one lol, its lighter then the 70Cu so its better for that and smaller.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Ya know, I have serious doubts about that fitting in my case... and my case isn't that small by any means...

Is this just for people like nubius who are anal about temps? I mean, I appear to have my venice (or ram) maxed out at a 450mhz overclock, and I only run at about 49 full load with a somewhat high ambient room temp. (and this baby is pretty dang quiet til the chipset fan pops on) All I have is a mid-sized $20 arctic cooling hsf, installed by a first time "cpu-hsf-er." It seems to get the job done.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 03:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I bet that thing performs pretty damn well. If i didn't just install the 7000AuCu BLue Led.. I would have picked up one of those...

It looks pretty cool...
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.