Z-640 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2004, 02:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default Z-640

i bought a logitech z-640 and i hooked it all up...i think they're all plugged in the right places, and i set it up with the Soundmax thing that came with my motherboard (Asus P4C800E Deluxe with 6 channel onboard audio)....and I played NFS and all the speakers work fine and sound pretty good...but then i tried to listen to my songs and went to winamp...but only the 2 front speakers and the subwoofer works with the songs...do i have to get a plug-in or something? how do i get all the speakers working with my songs? thx
__________________

xxkrnxstylezxx is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 02:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Heh, Had the same problems. If you installed the Creative software, you have to set it so it actually uses the speakers. Just try messing around with the settings, I'm on a different computer so I don't know what exactly it is.
__________________

Excelsium is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

hmm dont have a creative soundcard...so dont have the software....well i got the middle speaker to work by pressing matrix...but the rear 2 still dont work...did you get all the speakers to work with winamp??
xxkrnxstylezxx is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 02:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Make sure matrix mode is on.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Yes but if he's trying to listen to music (which is in stereo) and has matrix off then hes only going to get 2.1 sound. If matrix mode is on then the the rear and center speakers will filter into a 2.1 system. This creates music from all 5 speakers instead of just 2.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 04:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

hmm i tried the options thing in winamp and it was like that already and didnt work....yeah the matrix only makes the center speaker work....but now i got another weird problem...after playing Vice City, and i play NFS, the rear speakers dont work - even in NFS....so then i have to set up the speaker again in order to get all the speaker to work in NFS...takes like 5 secs but its gonna get annoying....and dont i need a plug in to get all 5 speakers to work in winamp?
xxkrnxstylezxx is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 05:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

It should make the rear speakers work, it does on my 5.1 speakers....
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 05:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

5.1 works with my DVD's, and games....i fixed the vice city thing in the settings...it just doesnt work with winamp...i found this plug in that makes the 5.1 work in winamp...but the quality of the song is worse...so im not gonna bother with that
xxkrnxstylezxx is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 10:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

to get 5.1 sound you need a decoder. If you have a sound card the sound card is generally the decoder. I would recommend getting a Sound Blaster Audigy card (whatever you can afford). However if your onboard sound is "supposed" to handle 5.1 and you have all the proper plugs plugged in then you should be able to download some software that enables 5.1 sound. Go to your mobo manufacturer website maybe?? Mess around with audio settings in control panel??
sithspawn is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 10:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

ps. DONT put matrix mode on. this is only to enable the center speaker if you dont have a decoder. You should be able to output to all your speakers without matrix mode.
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.