Your Wall-Mounted HDTV Probably Violates Electrical Codes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2009, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Your Wall-Mounted HDTV Probably Violates Electrical Codes

Your Wall-Mounted HDTV Probably Violates Electrical Codes

Gizmodo ran across an interesting tidbit of information that could have a direct affect on many of you. According to the article, running the cords from your HDTV through your walls is a violation of the National Electric Code that could void your insurance coverage.

Running power cords through the walls is not a substitute for permanent wiring. You're supposed to have a new electric socket installed directly behind the TV, where you can plug in the power cord and coil up the slack to tuck underneath. If you drilled some holes and ran cable yourself all willy nilly, in and back out to a power socket, chances are you are in violation of these codes. Should a fire result, your insurance may find reason to get out of covering your losses.



The way I have avoided this in the office here is hide the cables externally with off the shelf material from the local hardware store for a few bucks (is there nothing plastic rain gutter material canít do?).
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 10:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Your Wall-Mounted HDTV Probably Violates Electrical Codes

I never would have suspected that. I guess if there is a possibility of your insurance company not covering you, I would definitely rather just hide the coiled up cable. Looks like it violates two rules (2 and 5), they could pull off a double whammy on you.
Quote:
If you drilled some holes and ran cable yourself all willy nilly
I couldn't help but to laugh at that .
__________________

__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 12:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Your Wall-Mounted HDTV Probably Violates Electrical Codes

I find this interesting, considering most places that do an install like that, won't install new recepticals and such... Wonder if this also accounts for HDMI cables, wonder if they have to have a break out box...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 12:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Your Wall-Mounted HDTV Probably Violates Electrical Codes

Hmm..I should mention this article to my manager, as he does this occassionally when he does installs for people.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 01:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Your Wall-Mounted HDTV Probably Violates Electrical Codes

After reading this, I have found some incredibly cheap HDMI keystones, $5.00 each... And a few other really nice things... I think I will end up re-wiring my room
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 02:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Your Wall-Mounted HDTV Probably Violates Electrical Codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Hmm..I should mention this article to my manager, as he does this occassionally when he does installs for people.
yea really..house catches on fire they will sue a company for suing a wiring that isn't covered by insurance.

I guess it's because if it catches on fire you can't get to it....but that's the case with any wiring. I think it's just insurance companies wanting to be picky and not cover people.
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.